1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Help wiring a Honeywell ST9100C Timer for Boiler

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by kapenta, 28 Apr 2011.

  1. kapenta

    kapenta

    Joined:
    28 Apr 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi there

    Wondering if anyone can help with the wiring of a Honeywell ST9100C timer for my boiler.

    I have a simple single channel combined heating/hot water system with the following components:

    Potterton Flamingo 20 -30 boiler (old but reliable) with built in thermostat

    Grundfos Selectric pump

    Mains feed from a normal plug socket.

    I am replacing an old Sangamo Timer that has a much simpler wiring configuration but has started squeaking very loudly. The wiring currently has three terminals and an earth. The first terminal takes the live feed from the mains, the second takes the all neutrals from mains, boiler and pump and the third takes the live to the boiler and pump. All three earths are earthed to existing timer.

    The Honeywell has N, L, T1, T2, T3 ,T4 and parking terminal for external earth continuity. I just need the timer to power the boiler according to timer settings and have no motorised valves or room thermostats.

    Can anyone help? Much appreciated if you can.
     
  2. MrGassafe2011

    MrGassafe2011

    Joined:
    28 Apr 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. kapenta

    kapenta

    Joined:
    28 Apr 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks MrGas, sorry for the delay. Just one last question please. A friend told me that this timer is switch rating is not high enough for my boiler and I need a relay to up the current. Does this sound right?
     
  5. D_Hailsham

    D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    10,587
    Thanks Received:
    1,343
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ignore your friend! There is no need for a relay. Just wire it up as shown in the instructions and make sure that the fuse supplying the heating system is 3amp. This could be in a 3 pin plug or a fused spur.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  7. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page