1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

HENRY Hoover stopped working....

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by Louisa77, 5 Jan 2011.

  1. fungiroon

    fungiroon

    Joined:
    28 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not advisable to bypass the on off switch .Get a new one not expensive they pull out and you push new one in the wires you just change over,good luck keeping him alive!!
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. htgeng

    htgeng

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    2,123
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My Henry had a dodgy wire on the plug. Replaced the original plug and its fine again. I wonder how many vacuum cleaners are thrown out because of this fault :rolleyes:
     
  4. Kev555

    Kev555

    Joined:
    28 May 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Great advice m8 got my henry back up on his feet and scored some browny points with the wife "priceless". Just to confirm high/low switch or circuit board on my henry ( or should i say wife's henry lol) was at fault. Just done conversion as shown above.
     
  5. Kev555

    Kev555

    Joined:
    28 May 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    New on/off switch on amazon £3.84 delivered so not expensive to fix if anybody needs to know
     
  6. robinw01

    robinw01

    Joined:
    29 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Please excuse me hijacking this thread.

    My Henry is dead. I have fault tracked a number of things - fuse/cable, new contacts, bypassed switch, etc etc.

    I have now removed the motor from the machine and applied voltage directly to the contacts. Nothing.

    Is this likely to be the brushes, or new motor time?

    Thanks

    Robin
     
  7. rocks1

    rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Brushes worn down will give the dead effect.
     
  8. Kev555

    Kev555

    Joined:
    28 May 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tried bypassing the switch but strangely for some reason the little circuit board still stopped it from working(got rid of circuit board along with boost switch) Works ok now. If you have detached the motor completely from machine (without the circuit board) for testing it should work unless brushes or motor is shot.
     
  9. Besty90

    Besty90

    Joined:
    1 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyone had the issue where the light next to the hi/lo switch comes on but motor wont power up. Is this likely to be the brushes or the plug?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Djrobb85

    Djrobb85

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the same problem hope somebody can help!
     
  12. rocks1

    rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Poss the brushes worn down but could also be the hi low pcb.
     
  13. Besty90

    Besty90

    Joined:
    1 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I opened it up hoping I would understand what people meant but being a novice I wasn't quite sure which wires to put where (when trying to bypass the hi-lo switch).

    Anyone know of a youtube vid or a step-by-step guide?
     
  14. rocks1

    rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The two white wires that go to the motor. They go to the on off switch one will be live the other neutral then discard the wires to the hi low switch and it don't matter which white wires just any one on live other neutral terminals.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. peterdwyer

    peterdwyer

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can also confirm the hi lo switch failed for me too.

    Here is a picture of the writes after removing the pcb board:
    [/img]

    As said above the 2 white wires from the motor now connect to the on off switch.
     
  16. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great work!

    Can you put a photo of both sides of your pcb on here too please.

    I believe something fundamentally simple is being missed which could get your hetty/henry back to 100% functionality!
     
  17. sueonmull

    sueonmull

    Joined:
    17 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just wanted to say a big thank you, especially to treytrey, for all the help and advice on here. Combined with various videos on YouTube I have been able to strip down/diagnose/repair my Henry and feel well able to tackle any future problems.
    In my case the symptom was the same as besty90 – “the light next to the hi/lo switch comes on but motor wont power up” and was caused by a faulty PCB. Personally I preferred the old Henry design where the HI/LO switch didn’t have a light.
    Disappointed that a repair was need when Henry was just over 2 years old but so relieved I didn’t have to dump him and buy another.
     
Loading...

Share This Page