Hive Active heating

Joined
14 Feb 2017
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone please help, I thought I would give the Hive a go at self installation! My existing programmer seems to work hot water and heating so thought the new hive controller would fit straight on but there seems to be lack of wires? the programmer is fitted directly onto a wiring center,
img_20170213_113236_resized_20170214_035644929-jpg.114185
img_20170213_113507_resized_20170214_035646576-jpg.114186
img_20170214_200228_resized_20170215_083051655-jpg.114187
img_20170214_200251_resized_20170215_083050346-jpg.114188
img_20170214_200303_resized_20170215_083048828-jpg.114189
img_20170214_200332_resized_20170215_083052997-jpg.114190
have a look...



Read more: http://www.diynot.com/diy/threads/hive-active-heating.477284/#ixzz4YkFTV2gS
 
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,030
Reaction score
1,741
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
I'm not sure why you are asking this, because your existing wiring at the BG UP2 programmer is

N = Neutral (Blue wire)
L = Live (Brown wire)
1 = Hot water off (Yellow wire)
3 = Hot water on (White wire)
4 = Heating on (Red wire)

This corresponds exactly with the Hive dual channel unit wiring configuration.

The only other thing you need to do is remove the existing wired Honeywell room thermostat. The 4 wires should be disconnected from the wiring centre terminals marked 'roomstat' and the cable removed. Then where the two wires that go to the room thermostat terminals 1 and 3 were removed from (probably the red and yellow wires, but check first) insert a wire link between the two.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
14 Feb 2017
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi thanks for your reply, I was puzzled by the wiring as there is no heating off? and the yellow cable wired to the programmer seems to go nowhere? in the wiring center it goes to tank stat and linked to heating pump but nothing actually connected to anything?
 
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,030
Reaction score
1,741
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
I suspect your system may have started out as a 'Y Plan' with one three port valve, but has been converted to an 'S Plan' with twin two port valves some time afterwards. Don't worry too much about it though, if it works now it will work afterwards, you are only swapping like for like at the programmer and bypassing the existing thermostat.

Anyway, I have yet to come across a single UK system that uses the heating off terminal for anything. It's absolutely normal.
 
Sponsored Links

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Top