Hive help please

Joined
3 Dec 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, new to the forum but need a little advice. I have recently moved into a new house and brought my hive (single channel) with me. I'd obviously like to get this installed however I'm a little stumped....

In my old house, I had a Honeywell dial thermostat which I replaced with the hub/receiver box without issue, I took photos of how it was wired as I knew my new house had the same Honeywell thermostat however after opening it up today, I have noticed it's missing the neutral wire. I have attached a couple of pics to show what I'm talking about. The pic with the dial is what I currently have in my new house. The other pic is of how I had the hive installed in my old house.

Can anyone advise me on this as I don't want to break the heating, especially as it's getting colder and colder outside.

Thanks in advance
 

Attachments

  • 20171119_094844.jpg
    20171119_094844.jpg
    77.5 KB · Views: 162
  • 20171104_131044.jpg
    20171104_131044.jpg
    104.4 KB · Views: 170
Sponsored Links
Joined
3 Dec 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Also, reading the manual for the Honeywell thermostat, it says that a neutral should be used in pin 2 otherwise the thermostat will not be accurate
 
Joined
27 Jan 2008
Messages
19,510
Reaction score
1,857
Location
Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
Country
United Kingdom
With the old thermostat the neutral wire heats up a resistor to reduce the hysteresis, and it will work without it, new one needs a neutral, there are hard wired programmable thermostats that use two small batteries which don't need a neutral.

If you want to alter thermostat with phone then it will need some new wiring, however before going to all that work, you need to consider if Hive is the way forward, although Hive will work with phone, that's it, in real terms it is very poor quality.

Today most boilers can modulate there output, either using water temperature and TRV's or with a thermostat connected to the eBUS of the boiler.

So job one is down load the installation guide for the boiler and find out if it can use a modulating thermostat, in my case with Bosch I have to use the
Worcester Bosch Wave Internet Controlled Programmer
I can't use any other make, but with other boilers they can use any OpenTherm thermostat like Nest or EvoHome, and others have no option to connect to the eBUS and you have to use electronic heads on the TRV to use the modulating output. So before spending out anything work out what your options are.
 
Sponsored Links
Top