Hive Installation

Joined
12 Apr 2007
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Location
Aberdeen
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
Also posted this in the outside UK forum


Just got hold of a Hive to install it on my heating only circuit

My current Thermostat only has 3 connected wires - looks like I need to make the wires a bit safer than whoever installed it

I live in Austria and am a bit confused on how to wire up the Hive since I only have 3 wires

The heating is controlled by a solenoid/actuator - see the photo

Any advice welcome

Thanks
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1157.jpg
    IMG_1157.jpg
    80.9 KB · Views: 248
  • IMG_1159.jpg
    IMG_1159.jpg
    82.1 KB · Views: 207
  • IMG_1160.jpg
    IMG_1160.jpg
    102.5 KB · Views: 184
  • IMG_1161.jpg
    IMG_1161.jpg
    111.2 KB · Views: 179
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Jul 2006
Messages
21,592
Reaction score
2,402
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
My first impression is that the wiring is not fit for purpose. It looks like you have rubber-insulated conductors and the rubber is failing. There are bare, live conductors there.
You need to replace the cable before a fault occurs. You may cause big problems if you disturb what is there.
 
Joined
12 Apr 2007
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Location
Aberdeen
Country
United Kingdom
agree its looks a bit scary, insulation behind the bare section looks ok. i thing whoever fitted it broke the insulation - cowboy i think
if cable is damaged i will replace it

any clues on connectivity
 
Joined
2 Jun 2005
Messages
14,841
Reaction score
477
Location
Cumbria
Country
United Kingdom
You don't have a neutral there so it won't work.
You need an electrician to either replace or do away with that cable, the hive receiver can probably be moved elsewhere.
I don't have a clue on the legalities of doing this work in Australia.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,401
Reaction score
1,966
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
First of all the wiring should be the first thing to rectify. There should not be any of the conductor visible.

Your installation is slightly unusual to us here in the UK as you are using both sides of the changeover contact (NO, Normally Open and also NC, Normally Closed) However, the Single Channel version of the Hive provides exactly the same switching functionality as you have now, so it shouldn't present a problem.

The first part is fairly easy.

The photo inside the lid tells you what the present terminals are, but first check that the terminal marked L is a permanent live at mains voltage, just in case your system uses a voltage other than 230v. If it is 230v, then the below applies if it is something else eg 24v post back for further advice.

A = Permanent Live
B = Heating on (Normally Open)
C = Heating off (Normally Closed)

If you look at the Hive, you can find corresponding terminals.

L = Permanent Live
3 = Heating on (Normally Open)
2 = Heating off (Normally Closed)
You will then need to add a link wire between the Hive L and Terminal 1 (Common)

The next part could be more difficult though.

Because your existing programmable thermostat is battery operated, it doesn't need a Neutral so there may not be one there for you to use. However, the Hive being mains powered does need a neutral. The cut off blue wire may be a neutral but you will need to trace it back to see where it goes, and if you can connect it to a neutral.
 
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,401
Reaction score
1,966
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Ah yes, so it does! Wonder what that means! Is there an Echo in here? [See what I did there ;)]
 
Joined
2 Jun 2005
Messages
14,841
Reaction score
477
Location
Cumbria
Country
United Kingdom
Or is it referring to the valve configuration as opposed to a switch, i.e. it is normally closed and opens when power is applied?
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top