Hole saws

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Great board I found here, spent ages reading and now its time for a question!
In the near future I need to make some holes in wood (not exactly sure of type but possibly 3/8 ply or similar) The holes need to be about 80mm. I have a set of holesaws which I got some time ago, they are the solid ones as agains the ones that are rather like a hacksaw blade bent round that fit into a sort of collar. The problem with the ones I have is that after every hole, I need to take the mandrel out to release the bit thats been cut out. The job I need to do needs 18 holes drilling in order to fit some fans (long story) Im not a DIY expert but pretty handy and would really like some advice on a decent tool for this job that doesnt require an "operation" after every hole, preferably not costing a fortune.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
this is the main problm with holesaws. you can sometimes use a small screwdriver to push if out then the holes in the side of the holesaw, other than that its a case of remove and clear then re-assemble.

you can get holesaws that clip in/out and therefore take a second to pull pilot drill out so remove ****e

or, you could use a screw, screw into wood in saw and then pull out. altho this depends on how easy it is to get the screw in (works great for ceiling tiles etc)

If you can drill from both sides, it's best to do so. Drill part way through; then use the pilot hole to drill from the other side. This avoids breakout; the offcut should protrude from the body of the hole saw, making it easier to remove.