Home heating boiler won't switch on from timer.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I am new to this so bear with me.
I have a firebird home heating boiler that won't start from the program/timer.
I thought at first I had run out of oil but that isn't the case and when I go to the boiler and hit the red button it comes on no bother...
So I switched it off again and this time hit the boost button on the program and listened to see if the boiler tried to fire up but nothing happened, again I hit the red button and it went and stayed on for the duration of the boost.
Is it a problem with the program/timer or something else?
Any help is much appreciated. :)
Oh and the program/timer is a Hodrstman H37XL.

Sponsored Links
If the boost button part of the timer/clock mechanism and pressing the magic red button made the boiler fire for the duration of the boost then it suggests a logic fault. More information need to permit sensible response

Thanks Jackrae.
It is a Horstmann H37XL timer, the boost button itself is located on the clock/timer.
The only thing that seems to make it fire is when I hit the red button on the actual burner, neither boost nor timer get it going.

My thoughts are that the programmer/timer is most likely OK.
The boiler lights when you press the 'reset' on the 'control box' so power is available at the control box.
What I think you've not realized is the boiler must have gone to 'lockout mode' and has to be reset after fixing whatever problem caused it to go to lockout.

Sponsored Links
Thanks MANDATE.
How do I reset it?
I seen on anther blog that you need to switch the power off at the boiler for 30 secounds???

You reset it by pushing the button down which you have done.
When it goes to lockout you have to wait about two minutes before resetting.
This I think is to allow a small heating element to cool down,otherwise it wont reset.