How do I Control Honeywell Galaxy 2-12 remotely?

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by alan333, 6 Jan 2014.

  1. alan333

    alan333

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    1,314
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,
    I have a Honeywell Galaxy 2-12 alarm and would like some help to be able to control it remotely, ideally by iphone.

    I know it has an onboard PSTN dialler but it seems to be geared towards calling an ARC looking for handshakes etc, so I don't think that would be ideal.

    I see that I can fit an expensive ethernet cable to it, but I'm not sure how that would work. ie would it be connected to a pc or stand alone, would it have capabilities to email/text/call me in the event of an alarm condition etc.

    Can anyone think of a solution? Any help appreciated.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,954
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's how professional alarm systems work (one of the ways that is)

    Please don't take this the wrong way, it's not how it may seem to be meant and not directed directly at you.

    I just don't understand why people nowadays wish to 'play' with their alarm systems so much.

    If installed correctly, correct instructions given to anyone who needs to have access to it, there should be no problem.

    ANYONE entering the premises should know how to 'press the few buttons' to operate it. With the Galaxy, each can have their own 'User Code', you having the 'Master Manager Code' can see, via the log, all operations by others, what else is there?

    ps What are you going to do at 'silly o'clock in the morning' if the alarm goes off, when you are in Spain on holiday, because you have left a window open?

    I think the above is something you should give a little thought to.
     
  4. socdesign

    socdesign

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The on-board dialler can be used with Honeywell's software, but the remote system needs to have an old MODEM in it and be running Windows.

    You can add a low cost Ethernet module (sub £50) to the G2 and get virtual keypad remote control and low cost monitoring over the internet connection. The Galaxy has an Android app keypad - you can see this on Google Play. There's no iPhone solution at the moment, but it's supposed to come out soon.

    All the mainstream alarm companies are working on IP based remote control. If you're away from the property, you / peers / family can receive detailed event information. Dial into your IP cameras if need be and then take the necessary action. All without an expensive maintenance contract from an old dial-up ARC!
     
  5. alan333

    alan333

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    1,314
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies guys :)

    Europlex - I'm totally with you that the system should work properly and not need played with, and I also agree that knowing your alarm just went off while you're on a Spanish beach is useless, but please let me elaborate a bit.
    I got some help from here installing and setting up the system, and generally it works flawlessly as you describe....except the odd glitch...ie my cat. It seems that he takes a run around the lounge at around 9pm if we've been out all day and evening, thus setting off the pet friendly PIR. This has happened twice over the last year or so, and on both occasions our neighbour phoned to let us know the alarm has triggered and that he's had a look around the house and found nothing sinister. Ideally I'd like to be able to find out which sensor has triggered and reset it remotely. We have other arrangements made for times when we're on holiday.

    socdesign - I've had a browse around looking for low cost self monitoring but I have a couple of concerns with the website of the only one I can find with the sub fifty quid ethernet. It's a great idea tho, I'll probably look further into it.

    Edit...I've looked into the self monitoring I mentioned above and have had my fears allayed.
     
  6. Jibbeh

    Jibbeh

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll assume you mean Selfmon.co.uk? I'm sure myself and a few others here use it, had it around a year now without any issues at all. Said previously how I can arm the system and have the text arrive at my phone before I've even got in the car to goto work. The Android app is fantastic, just like being on a real keypad. Seriously can't recommend it enough.


    Maybe its not the flashest website but concerns? Share them and im sure others will leave their feedback too.
     
  7. socdesign

    socdesign

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agreed. No frills - just works.
     
  8. alan333

    alan333

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    1,314
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did share my concerns in my original post while it was an anonymous company/service I was referring to. However after being contacted by the company supplying the hardware, who allayed my fears (and repaired the website), I decided to remove the specifics so I wasn't being unnecessarily derogatory.

    I am now seriously considering buying the product/service, and thank you for your feedback on it :)

    edit...I have now ordered the kit, will report back in due course. Thanks for your input :)
     
  9. alan333

    alan333

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    1,314
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A follow up...

    I've now had the sub fifty quid ethernet module fitted and working for a few weeks and can confirm that it does exactly what it's supposed to ie it texts/calls/emails me (as per which settings I choose) with alarm events and I have complete control of my panel from iphone/ipad/pc.

    I had the odd problem setting it up properly on my particular router, but with the excellent technical help from S M Alarms these niggles were quickly and efficiently sorted. I would highly recommend the product and service to anyone considering it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. GalaxyGuy

    GalaxyGuy

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    887
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fife
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the feedback.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Rob Prydderch

    Rob Prydderch

    Joined:
    12 May 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  13. Rob Prydderch

    Rob Prydderch

    Joined:
    12 May 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alan, I am trying to fit an ethernet module on my panel, as you have already done this could you share the procedure with me please?
    all help will be appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  14. GalaxyGuy

    GalaxyGuy

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    887
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fife
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which module version and panel type do you have?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Rob Prydderch

    Rob Prydderch

    Joined:
    12 May 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, thanks for the reply.
    The panel is a galaxy 2-12 C012

    the module is E080-2
    As per photos.
    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  16. GalaxyGuy

    GalaxyGuy

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    887
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fife
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You will not be able to control your panel using Honeywell's module. Only the SelfMon LCE module will do that. The Honeywell module will only provide event reporting.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Rob Prydderch

    Rob Prydderch

    Joined:
    12 May 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you, so if I just want to see the incident reports the module I have is adequate?
    I have tried to connect it to the main board to no avail.
    The IP address and relevant information is loaded via key panel. Does the module require 12v dc?
    Cheers
     
Loading...

Share This Page