How long between coats ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I've just put the first skim (Thistle Bonding - Purple logo) on the first wall I've ever plastered.

Its gone on OK and appears to be drying out OK. It is on to a thickness of about 2mm - 3mm

How long do I wait before doing the final top coat ?

Realise its a basic question, but I've never done this before and don't want to make a DB out of it now by top-coating too soon or too late

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
If you've just skimmed the wall with Thistle bonding coat, then that is undercoat plaster and you will have to wait for it to set before you can put on the Multi finish (finishing plaster). That comes in a white bag with orange writing/logo. Have you got a bag of multi? You'll know when Bonding coat is beginning to set because you will see it change from the light colour to darker, patches will appear in it and when it has completely set it will be darker all over. That is when you should put on the finishing. You can put it on earlier but this can cause blisters/bubbles.

Roughcaster.

Cheers Roughcaster

Does it have to be Multi Finish ?

I don't have a bag of that, bought Green bag (finishing coat, I think)

If it has to be the former, I'll go back & swap bags ......

Thanks again :D

What you have in the green bag is Board Finish, for using on plasterboard. I would use Multi finish, it can be used on plasterboard or on a solid floated surface, most would use it nowadays........ One more thing, if you have coated the wall with bonding, and are now thinking of putting on the finishing plaster some 2 or 3 days later, you will have an awkward job. Most, if not all walls that are coated with plaster, be it undercoat or just multi finish skimmed, are completed the same day. In other words, start and finish the wall/s on the same day, don't do one coat today and another one tomorrow. It makes for very hard work..

Roughcaster.

Sponsored Links