Indesit VRM 640MC Hob

Joined
21 Dec 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
Hi does anyone have a pic of the wiring ? Ive downloaded all the manuals but none are very specific !Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
21 Dec 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
There are no wires coming out of it - its a box which a 6mm has to be wired into but all the manuals aren't helpful.
 
Joined
21 Dec 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
DSC_0151.JPG
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
3 Nov 2006
Messages
26,937
Reaction score
2,901
Location
Bedfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
How did you buy this hob ? Why did it come without the lead ?.

The diagrams in the manual suggest that Live is to terminals 1 and 2 with Neutral to terminals 4 and 5 Earth to terminal 6.

From your photo it can be seen that terninals 3 and 2 are linked

This might help but I would strongly suggest you ask Indesit for confirmation that terminals 1, 2 and 3 are all connected when the supply is single phase.

0z3.jpg
 
Joined
21 Dec 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
Hi the hob is new and doesn't come with a lead - ive asked Indesit and they said none of their appliances comes with leads ! nor would they advice over the phone but offered to charge me for an electrician !
 
Joined
1 Dec 2006
Messages
5,381
Reaction score
526
Location
Cumbria
Country
United Kingdom
The photo clearly shows L, N & an earth symbol on terminals 1, 5 & 6 what more information do you need?
 
Joined
27 Jan 2008
Messages
19,972
Reaction score
1,956
Location
Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
Country
United Kingdom
Hobs in Europe are often connected to a split phase supply, the wiring allows you the installer to select how it is connected, a meter will quickly verify what is connected to what, likely Neutral is a single wire and line needs link in UK as we don't normally have split phase, some remote farm houses may, but it is rather rare.
 
Joined
21 Dec 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
Ive quoted the manual to Indesit and they said the manuals are out of date. The manual we got with it doesn't state that its supplied with a cable.
 
Joined
21 Dec 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
When you put the cable in 1 it passes through 2 - when you put the cable in 2 it passes through 3 and so forth ! Tomorrow Im looking for a sparky in my area who will probably charge me the earth to do a 2 min job which of course will be really simple to him !
 
Joined
1 Dec 2006
Messages
5,381
Reaction score
526
Location
Cumbria
Country
United Kingdom
You are stripping too much insulation from the conductors, just cut some of the wire off so that you only have enough to be clamped in the terminals.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top