Install double switch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a complete novice to wiring. I need to put in a double switch for fan and lighting in bathroom. The fan was disconnected long before I moved in so I don't know how it was originally wired. I pulled the plate and found one red wire to bottom of light switch and one black one to top. I also found two white wires taped together with black tape, and part of the black wire was taped to reveal two black ones further on. The green ground wire is wired to the handy box. How do I wire this up on a double switch which I purchased, has two screw connectors on each side and ground at top, 15amp 120 leviton switch. Any help greatly appreciated. I am located in USA

Sponsored Links
JohnT said:
I am a complete novice to wiring. I need to put in a double switch for fan and lighting in bathroom. The fan was disconnected long before I moved in so I don't know how it was originally wired. I pulled the plate and found one red wire to bottom of light switch and one black one to top. I also found two white wires taped together with black tape, and part of the black wire was taped to reveal two black ones further on. The green ground wire is wired to the handy box. How do I wire this up on a double switch which I purchased, has two screw connectors on each side and ground at top, 15amp 120 leviton switch. Any help greatly appreciated. I am located in USA
The best thing to do is start form scratch! you need 1. double pole Isolation switch, 2. Cable 6242Y 1.5mm (for thermal volt Drop in Roof) 3. New fan.