Installing armoured cable.

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by grommett, 25 May 2020.

  1. grommett

    grommett

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a good length of armoured cable left over from building a new garage a few years ago. I would like to use it to install a 300w pond pump in my garden.

    Firstly, I will not be doing this job myself but would like an idea of what’s possible before I start.

    I can take the supply from my consumer unit but I have no spare slots for an additional MCB. Or I could spur off a socket in my kitchen which would be much more convenient if allowed.

    I could run the cable into a nearby brick shed and install a mini consumer unit so I could also have some lights.

    wont be running any power tools etc as I already have plenty of outside sockets for that.

    thanks for any advice
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. john4703

    john4703

    Joined:
    29 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what size is the cable?
     
  4. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    49,186
    Thanks Received:
    3,247
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It can't possible be too small to supply a 300W pump and 'some lights', can it?

    We haven't been told the distance, either.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  5. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,110
    Thanks Received:
    2,039
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Allowed and very likely possible.
    So is connecting via one of the other existing outdoor sockets.
    Whether armoured cable is required depends on where and how it will be installed.
    There are many possible options.

    Entirely pointless and not required.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. grommett

    grommett

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Found marking on cable and it is 6mm2, the outside diameter is around 20mm. It was left over after my last electrician over ordered for a run from consumer unit to garage of around 25 meters, I still have about 20 meters left over. The new run would be around 5-6 meters from consumer unit to shed, or 4-5 meters from an existing socket to shed. This would be from my kitchen circuit. My thoughts were to run it to the shed and fit a mini consumer unit so it could have an RCB. The new supply would then run to the pump and some LED garden lighting.
     
    Last edited: 27 May 2020
  7. grommett

    grommett

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I notice you are in Poole, would you be interested in quoting me for this job?
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,630
    Thanks Received:
    2,141
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    think you mean RCD?

    as Flameport says, a mini cu is pointless for this.

    Even more so because The kitchen circuit is probably already RCD protected, do another one is pointless. Also you’d need a fused connection unit to connect to the kitchen circuit. This will limit the max current down your SWA to 13Amp. But Iguess that’s enough?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. grommett

    grommett

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes:RCD!
    13amps is plenty.
    I would like power in the shed which would have an inside light and an outside light on a 3 gang light switch, possibly with a 2 way outdoor switch on the outside of the shed. I would also use this switch for pond lighting which would be low voltage led strip lighting.
    I would also need a weatherproof socket near the pond for pump/filter. Pump is approx 200 watts max but will normally be running at around 100w, filter has a 40w UV lamp. There is also a 3bar cleaning pump that runs for a few seconds at a time, every few hours. Not sure what the rating of this is but unlikely to be more than a couple of hundred watts.
     
  11. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,110
    Thanks Received:
    2,039
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Website with contact details can be found in the profile, click my username then the 'information' tab.
     
  12. grommett

    grommett

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been having a look at this 6mm armoured cable and I dont think it will be suitable as there is no way it will bend round the outside corner of my house, its just too thick. In fact there are a few bends it will have to go around. So I am thinking what is a better alternative? Going by previous reply in this post, I now think the best plan is to spur off an existing outside socket which is roughly 7 meters from the shed. There is a string course of bricks on the house about 900mm above ground so a cable running under the ledge would not be too obtrusive. Should I go black PVC conduit with 2.5mm T&E or look at a thinner armoured cable? (the only reason for originally using the 6mmm armoured is that I found some behind my garage).
     
  13. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    4,757
    Thanks Received:
    1,005
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't use T & E in conduit- getting it round bends is rubbish.
    Sounds as if 2.5 swa would do the job, flog the 6mm to pay for it :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page