Kitchen cabinet fitting advice.

Discussion in 'General DIY' started by singhters, 11 Feb 2010.

  1. singhters

    singhters

    Joined:
    8 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive just bought some lovely costa rica kitchen units from wickes, certainly were not cheap, ive built them and put them in place, but they seem to be a little shaky, am i missing a trick ?

    I've never done anything like this before and was under the impression most kitchens and units are bolted to the wall but the actual backs of these have those flimsy mdf board things ? so is it a case that when i put the worktop on and seal it down it will become nice and solid ? do I have to and is it a good idea to bolt the worktop to the wall or just seal it to the units.

    thanks.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. DarrenThomas

    DarrenThomas

    Joined:
    4 May 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Were there no brackets included to hold the base units to the wall? I find that a little surprising since both my parents MFI kitchen and my recently installed IKEA kitchen all have a bracket to just hold the unit in place.

    the back of the units is usually flimy but thats nothing to worry about, any bracket would screw into the sides of the cabinet and then into the wall. The ones with my ikea kitchen are chunky enough to hold the cupboard in place with no legs attached (not that you'd want to), they didn't move a bit once in place.
     
  4. singhters

    singhters

    Joined:
    8 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ahh i see i did get small metal L shaped brackets not big ones though, i will reassess and have another look, thanks very much.
     
  5. singhters

    singhters

    Joined:
    8 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the holes arent pre drilled for the brackets i guess its a case you have to drill them yourself ?
     
  6. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They should be pre drilled, what about taking some pictures of your left over fixings and we can offer better advise.
     
  7. oldman2

    oldman2

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think the poster meant pre drilled in the base unit. The brackets most likely are drilled and even slotted on one hole I guess.

    I made my own brackets as I thought the supplied ones too flimsy.

    Here is a pic of a base unit for the gas hob with 2 brackets drilled to the wall. The back panel had yet to be fitted.

     
  8. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,225
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The units should also be screwed to each other as well as secured to wall.
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. singhters

    singhters

    Joined:
    8 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all heres the finished article.

    next will be the wall units to match the length of that, another question is theres plaster board on the walls, what fixings are best and strong enough for wall units when attaching to plaster board.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. ColJack

    ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Thanks Received:
    410
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there's a reason the holes aren't pre-drilled.. you may have to trim the back of the units down to allow for an out of square wall or make notches for pipes etc so they cannot guarantee where you will be putting them..
     
  12. gorgeousgordy

    gorgeousgordy

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You mean this
    http://www.woodfit.com/product_info...3&Name=Cabinet+Hanging+Rail+-+2.5mt.+-+Steel.

    It's best to locate the stud work in the wall and use that if you can, this is rarely possible without pre planning or taking the boards out and placing some nogins in, but if all else fails use hollow wall anchors.
    Unless the wall is dot'n'dab, then use masonry plugs.
     
  14. gorgeousgordy

    gorgeousgordy

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,225
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would have been easier to fit wall units first.
     
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page