Kitchen worktop cut-out

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to make a cut-out in a work surface to take an inset sink.

I was originally planning on using a jigsaw for this, however have experienced problems with jigsaws due to the blades having a mind of their own, bending, twisting etc. I was therefore going to purchase a decent jigsaw and use that carefully.

I have been told this morning that another option is to use a router with a template to make the cut out. I've never used a router before :confused: so am unsure of the advantages or disadvantages of this.

Can anyone please offer advice/advantages/disadvantages of either method as I don't want to ruin a £80 worksurface. Also any recommendations of tools/blades/bits manufacturers would be really appreciated.

Thanks a lot

Sponsored Links
Sorry for got to mention this is for the kitchen! Although I guess most people would assume that.

I've also just read the title of my post....... :rolleyes:

AndersonC said:
I need to make a cut-out in a work surface to take an inset sink.
I was originally planning on using a jigsaw for this, however have experienced problems with jigsaws due to the blades having a mind of their own, bending, twisting etc. I was therefore going to purchase a decent jigsaw and use that carefully.
That's an idea - I'd take a serious look at something like a Bosch industrial jigsaw (a blue 'un). These are a lot of money against a DIY machine, but it will last, and last, and last...... just make sure that you buy something like Bosch jigsaw blades to go with it, not cheapo ones and throw them away as soon as they start to blunt. A good blade to use on worktop cuts has downwards pointing teeth. (and no, I have a Metabo, but they're much of a muchness)

AndersonC said:
I have been told this morning that another option is to use a router with a template to make the cut out. I've never used a router before :confused: So am unsure of the advantages or disadvantages of this.