Leaking Pump Gate Valves

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a real novice at plumbing and central heating systems but having had some success at diagnosing that the squealing from my central heating pump was caused by a jammed ball valve in the feed system in the loft I've decided to try and tackle (or at least to understand if I think it's beyond me) my next problem.

I have 2 pump gate valves either side of the pump. On both of these there is water leaking out of the small nut which is screwed onto the narrow cylindrical bit that sticks out. The night before last water was pouring out of one of these. I tightened up the nut which alleviated the problem at the time but there is still a small leakage (this is also the case for the other valve which i can't tighten as it seems to be jammed - both valves are heavily scaled).

The obvious answer I'm sure would be to replace both valves but is this an easy job and would this necessitate draining down the system (the pump is in a cupboard upstairs and is higher than any of the radiators)? If so. do I follow the same proceedure as in the text books for a system which has thermostatic radiator valves on it? The system is open vented.

Alternatively, if it is possible that there is a washer between the nut and the valve that has gone, would it be possible to shut off the valves and replace this washer without draining down the system? If this is the case, how do you do this as I can't see any indication of how to turn this valve into the off position?

I'm sure your advice would be to get a plumber in but I am really interested in finding out more about my central heating system and find it really satisfying if I can solve things.

I do have a pic of the valves and pump but can't see any way of uploading it onto this site. If anyone has any tips?

Thanks for your time in advance!!!!!

Sponsored Links