Motorised Valve not working

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm new to this house owner type stuff but am keen to learn.

I recently moved into my first home and whilst the hotwater is working nicely my central heating will just not come on.

When I turn it on simply nothing happens at all. I have tracked the problem down to the motorised valve for the central heating system not working correctly.

If I move the valve to 'man on' position the rads do heat up when I have the HW on, but unfortunatly the HW soon gets to temperature and it all turns off again.

If I depress the dip switch on the CH valve the system does come on..but I decided not to force this switch down for long as I would imagine leaving it on with both valves closed would do the system no good at all!!

After playing around with the HW valve I see that when the tank temperature drops below that set the HW valve creeps open automatically and depresses the dipswitch causing the sytem to fire up. So I'm thinking there could be four possible problems with the CH and I'm at aloss as to diagnose which is causing the fault.

i) The valve motor itself
ii) The room thermostat (althoguh it is definetly making a 'clicking' sound when I change the required heat past that the room is actually at)
iii) The controller (although the led is on to signify the heating should be on)
iV) Loose wires at some point (although a quick visual check revealed nothing)

I'm not sure how much use model numbers would be, although it appears to be a honeywell system. The HW valve is newer than the CH valve. I do have a multimeter and am not scared to use it, so some information on where there should or shouldn't be some voltage difference would be useful

For the time being I was thinking of taping the CH dip switch down and leaving the valve on manual open. Obviously I would then have to control the heating manually on the controller and the CH would always come on with the HW. Any dangers in doing this?