1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Moving Light Switch from Attic to Dowstairs

Discussion in 'Electrics Outside of the UK' started by anyinfo, 29 Sep 2006.

  1. anyinfo

    anyinfo

    Joined:
    29 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    Living in Ireland.

    I have a light in the attic that can only be switch on/off from the attic. I am looking to move the light switch from the attic down to the landing. I have opened the switch and I am wondering about the connections. There are two cables entering the switch and another cable exiting to the light. The cables are connected as follows

    Switch - Common Connector - Two brown wires
    Switch - L1 Connector - Brown Wire to the Light Cable
    All neutral (Blue) wires are connected together
    Two of the cables have earths connected (Yellow/Green) (one is the light cable) and the other has a cut earth and shielded with cable cover.

    What is the best method of moving the switch down. Surely I don't need to bring the three cables down to the new switch.

    Thanks for any help

    :?:
     
  2. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    change it to a junction box and bring down the 2 that are connected to the switsh, and dont forget the earths
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. anyinfo

    anyinfo

    Joined:
    29 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Breezer, thanks for reply but now for the stupid question. How does thi work. If I bring down the two cables currently connected to the common at the switch in the attic and connect to the common on the new switch, how does it connect to the lighting. Does it mean splitting the cables in the attic into the junction box. Not too sure how junction boxes work. Sorry if this really is a daft question.

    I know I could bring all three cables down thru the stud partition and then just copy the connections in the attic but its alot of cable and not sure can fit all three cables into the new switch.
     
  5. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    note my signature (middle bit)

    then get another same size cable, connect via jb and put new cable to switch.


    a 5A jb will be fine (or bigger)
     
  6. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  7. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page