1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Need idiots instructions for wiring tridonic ballast

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by PlsHelpMe, 5 Jun 2012.

  1. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,455
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you also connected tube A and fitted both lamps, the unit wont work unless both A and B are wired and fitted
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. PlsHelpMe

    PlsHelpMe

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes I connected and wired both A&B tubes. I wondered whether wiring the greens to each other was the right thing to do? Do you think I could do a connectivity test on the ballast by touching Ballast 3or4 with one of the 6 Ballast points on the other end via the multi meter? Is it normal practice?

    just want to make sure I've got all the angles covered so that I don't blow the next Ballast I'm about to buy.
     
  4. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,455
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I feel the two greens are just in your case coloured wire to the pins, not to be confused with earth, and you would be correct to just join the two as per diagram,provided none of the other three cores are linked across, your previous shorting to earth may as you say damaged the old ballast i dont know.

    Without comparing to a good ballast its unlikely you can obtain the readings to expect to test.

    One test you could try is on the lamps
    continunity test between pins 1+2 and 3+4 note the readings
    Plug lamp in and repeat from the coloured wired ends, this will confirm your lamps are good and also you have the correct pairs.

    Just reread your first post and you say it went with a Bang so yes its likely the ballasts gone, with NO power to the unit, looking at the rear corner of the ballast can you see a black blow mark from the vent slot, thats where the Pcb earths to the casing on tridonic units, alternatively the back casing clips off and you will see any damage.
    If you can its usually irrepairable
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. PlsHelpMe

    PlsHelpMe

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just looked and there's no blow mark, but before I open it up, just thought I'd let you know that I connected the black lead of my multi meter on Ballast 3 and the red lead on Ballast 14 and hey presto! I got a reading, but unfortunately there was no reading from Ballast points 11,10,9 (especially on 10, which I assume was the live for Tube B). Is this normal? I'm definitely not suppose to double wire the tubes so that the both get a live feed from Ballast 14? Or am I being too adventurous here? #justwondering

    Read more: http://www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=2705194#2705194#ixzz2NNCjY04I
     
  6. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,455
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would presume the unit would detect nothing connected to the other terminals and shut down

    From the tridonic website

    15. Can a single lamp be operated on a 2-lamp ECG? No.
    All dimmable and non-dimmable electronic ballasts always shut down all lamps if a lamp is not working correctly or is not connected.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. PlsHelpMe

    PlsHelpMe

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks. I'll buy a new ballast in a month or so and give it another go
     
  8. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which is a bit of a b****r if one lamp fails, both go out, and you want to replace the failed one....
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page