need tips for fitting skirting board

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I am a diy newbie whose having to learn by trial and error....unfortuantely that can get a bit costly :rolleyes:

i'm about to start fitting skirting board (taurus, i think) to newly plastered (well. about a month ago) plasterboard lined walls, brick directly behind.

I reckon i can manage the external cuts with a mitre saw...

Can someone explain how to 'scribe??' internals joints...i've looked at some diy sites but it doesn't make a lot of sense :confused:

Also, is it better to use an adhesive to fix to the wall, or if not, again a newbie question i know but, do you nail into the brick? or is there another method.

Sponsored Links
Hello, good evening and welcome :D

To fix the skirting, theres two methods you could use. First is gripfill which is good strong stuff, you need to genourous, and as long as the wall is even its fine, just may need some weight against it for half an hour till it goes off. Main advantage is theres no sign of the fixings. Second method is plugs and screws, whih will pull the board onto the contours of the wall and will be secure, only problem is you are left with the fixings showing, which you need to fill, before decorating.

As for scribing the inernal joints, what you are doing is cutting the end of one of the boards to the profile of another so they fit together. Easiest way i find is to cut a mitre on the end of the board and that will give you the profile of the face of the board as you look at it. Then simply cut around the profile, so you are in effect cutting off the mitre, and do it with a coping saw. the other way is to have a small offcut of the board, and place that against the board that will be cut. Draw around it and then cut around the line with the coping saw.

Hope it all makes sense ;)

hiya

thanks for the welcome and swift reply :D

first part makes good sense...plugs n screws is probably the way i'll go.

the scribing bit...