New oil tank

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am about to hook up a new oil tank to my boiler and just want someone to say if i am going about things the right way.

Gate valve connected directly to the oil tank using ptfe around threaded connection.
Guage connected directly to the gate valve using ptfe around threaded connection.
Compression fitting joining 10mm sheathed copper pipe to gauage.
Compression fitting joining 10mm pipe to oil filter.
Compression fitting joining oil filter to existing 10mm pipe leading to boiler.

Does that sound about right - just curious about the order of things - ie does the filter come after the guage or before it.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
I am not an oil expert but would prefer the filter before the gauge.

You dont seem to have included notifying your local Building Control department?

As oil tanks are now Notifyable, have you done that?

Tony Glazier

All i am doing is is installing a new tank as the old one is too big and in the middle of our garden.
I have the new one on a solid level fireproof surface and it is the correct distance from windws walls and boundaries. So in a sense it is just like i have picked up the original one and moved it a little bit.

Tony, Paddy's in Ireland. Perhaps they don't have the benefit of all our government legislation over there?

Sponsored Links
really sounds like a job for "oilman" but i understand he is still in the land of nod :LOL:

I like that "Irish" response to the problem!

In England with that problem someone would plant trees around it and make a feature and take advantage of a large tank to buy cheap bulk supplies during July when the oil firms have nothing to do and prices are low.

Paddy, however, buys a new smaller tank and fills it up at peak prices during September! However as the economy is booming "over the water" perhaps the cost is not important!

Tony

I like that "Irish" response to the problem!