1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New socket from spur

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by JohnNox, 17 Jun 2018.

  1. JohnNox

    JohnNox

    Joined:
    27 Mar 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    TBH i'm not sure if it's really a spur or a radial circuit itself, since the cable begins on the MCB?

    Out of curiosity, what do the regs say about multiple rings beginning on a single MCB - are those multiple circuits or one?

    What about a ring and a radial on one MCB? Get's tricky!

    In any case, I did the small modification connecting a single socket on the supply side of the existing FCU of the "spur" as ELFImpudence suggested, all good.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,458
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    If that is intended for me then the answer is no, but we are allowed to think and design circuits so they are safe.

    Please feel free to state specifically what you think is wrong with my advice.
     
  4. I don't require your permission to post on this site :LOL:......

    Dave
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,458
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    It's called a spur but as you can see it is no different than a radial.

    It is classed as one circuit. The definition of a circuit is equipment and cables protected by the same OPD (fuse/MCB).

    Nope, no different.

    Ok, so now you have a 2.5mm² radial (part) circuit, albeit from a 32A MCB, with one socket on it (where a double is allowed) for your thermostat - to which you have added an alarm which are both protected by 3A fuses
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. john4703

    john4703

    Joined:
    29 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why? It is often better to have the thermostat in an area that is heated even if the boiler is in a utility room that is unheated. Is there and reason to run extra mains cables to feed the Nest thermostat to have it on the same circuit as the boiler?
     
  7. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,458
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    No, we have solved that. I initially thought the OP was referring to the receiver.
     
  8. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,197
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The "radial" is a spur that happens to connect at the MCB rather than part way round the ring. The same rules apply one single or one double socket or one FCU.

    In which case what you have done is non compliant.
     
  9. JohnNox

    JohnNox

    Joined:
    27 Mar 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I have a (20cm long) spur that has a single socket AND a 3A FCU. I don't believe it's non-compliant as it can't overload the cable. Professionals seems to be split on this issue (both here and in other forums I have searched online). I'd appreciate a segment from the regs that specifically says this is non-compliant (and an explanation as to why).
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,197
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't make the regs but you are only allowed one single or double socket or one FCU on a spur however short it is. Suggest you search the regs yourself. Suppose you put a 13 amp fuse in your FCU and a 13 amp fuse in the plug?

    To make it compliant just run another 20cm long spur from the CU.
     
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,458
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    It is not what an "informative Appendix picture" shows and states.

    Look at it another way, John.

    Had you swapped the FCU for a double socket and plugged in the alarm and thermostat, no one would be complaining but see if you can find a difference, safety wise.

    Another way would have been to change the cable from CU to FCU to 4mm² that would not contravene any regulations but people would still say "It's not in the picture so it can't be right".
    Had you changed all the cable from CU to new socket to 4mm² you would also be allowed to extend this cable and add as many socets as you like. Would that still be a spur?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,458
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Wouldn't that be the same as a double socket?
     
  14. Yorkshirebloke

    Yorkshirebloke

    Joined:
    12 May 2018
    Messages:
    175
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is a rfc and a radial on one MCB not classed as a single circuit? If so, surely it's fine?
     
  15. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,458
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, I don't think anyone is arguing about that part of it.


    RFC stands for Radial Final Circuit as well. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Yorkshirebloke

    Yorkshirebloke

    Joined:
    12 May 2018
    Messages:
    175
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Aye, I'm just also trying to get my head round it :D

    So if it's a radial circuit, there is no limit to how many sockets you can have on it right? (Although I did read that floor area was a limiting factor, although I'd also read that wasn't actually set in stone)
    Is it the fact it's a fcu that's the problem?
     
  17. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,197
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No. Many double sockets are rated at 20a (not 26a).
     
Loading...

Share This Page