No lights but no trip on rcd either

Joined
12 Aug 2013
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Glamorgan
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I hope someone can help with a confusing problem. Got up this morning to find I had no lights in any room in our bungalow and the trip in the rcd has not tripped. We have an extension to the bungalow and lights are ok there. Everything else in the house is ok, sockets, cooker, garage etc.
I fitted a new light fitting in the kitchen a few weeks ago and the wiring from the attic was very tight (little free play) but its worked fine since fitting. All lights were working fine last night. Could it be the actual trip in the rcd is faulty or could it be a wiring problem related to the new fitting in the kitchen? Apart from that I can't think what else it could be.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
27 Aug 2003
Messages
69,782
Reaction score
2,884
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Probably a problem related to the wiring of the new light. If the "tight" cable has pulled free, and the kitchen light is the first one on the circuit for the original building then it could knock out all of the lights.

BTW - an RCD is one type of trip, MCB is another, an RCBO is a 3rd. They all live inside consumer units. When you say "the trip in the rcd has not tripped" I assume you mean that the MCB in the CU has not tripped?
 
Joined
12 Aug 2013
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Glamorgan
Country
United Kingdom
Many thanks for your prompt reply ban-all-sheds. I'll take another look at the light fitting in the kitchen and in the attic.
I'm not familiar with all the terminology but I assume the "box" that houses all these trip switches is the CU. It's made by Wylex with a sticker stating 100mA trip RCD. All the individual trip switches are marked with NB and then their respective amp rating.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
12 Aug 2013
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Glamorgan
Country
United Kingdom
Problem solved. Loose earth wire in kitchen light fitting. Many thanks again for the help and pointing me in the right direction :LOL:
 
Joined
26 Sep 2006
Messages
1,972
Reaction score
179
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Problem solved. Loose earth wire in kitchen light fitting. Many thanks again for the help and pointing me in the right direction :LOL:

Not so fast! A loose earth wire would not stop the lights from working unless it made contact with one of the live conductors, in which case the RCD should trip. So there must be something else wrong somewhere!
 
Joined
27 Aug 2003
Messages
69,782
Reaction score
2,884
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
But a loose wire which should be an earth but which has been dangerously (as in really, very, dangerously) repurposed as a live conductor can.
 
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,972
Reaction score
3,488
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Problem solved. Loose earth wire in kitchen light fitting. Many thanks again for the help and pointing me in the right direction :LOL:
Did you tighten anything other than the earth connection? As others have said, a loose 'earth' wire would not result in lights not working, unless something very dangerous was going on and it were being used for something other than earth.

Kidn Regards, John
 
Joined
26 Sep 2006
Messages
1,972
Reaction score
179
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
But a loose wire which should be an earth but which has been dangerously (as in really, very, dangerously) repurposed as a live conductor can.

Indeed. I think we need a good quality, close up and correctly focussed picture of the connections at that light fitting. TURN OFF THE POWER at the CU before you open it up again! Use a proper camera, ideally with a macro setting, not a phone camera, which will not be able to give a well focussed close-up.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top