NO PRESSURE !!!!!

Joined
24 Jan 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Sussex
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys
I have a reavenheat boiler
Today I drained part of the system to replace a towel rail,
After completing the job I refilled the system using the loop under the boiler ,unfortunately the gauge remains to zero
I have bled the rads and refilled the system but the gauge is still on zero
I fired up the boiler and everything works fine , hot water and heating
Even with the rads hot the pressure is still zero!!!i have switched everything off for the night to avoid damage
Can anyone help??????
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
27 Mar 2007
Messages
1,246
Reaction score
142
Location
Surrey
Country
United Kingdom
Either:

1) The gauge is faulty or has become blocked. What was it reading before the work?

2) You have not pressurised the system enough. Does water squirt out if you bleed the highest radiator?
 
Joined
24 Jan 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Sussex
Country
United Kingdom
Before. I started the work on the rads pressure was just 1 bar
But it never went over 1 bar possibly due to the fact that the boiler is in the loft
And in answer to your question I have filled a cup of water from each rad
Reading on other forums I have heard of a fault in some membrane and water mixing with air ???
 
Joined
26 Nov 2005
Messages
277
Reaction score
25
Location
Surrey
Country
United Kingdom
Either the gauge is faulty or simply blocked, probably blocked.

Kill the power and confirm its killed, drain the appliance, trace the thick wire that comes out of the back of the gauge and remove the other end probably from the return manifold. Poke through the muck that has accumulated in the connection and clean the wire end. Be careful with the o-ring but maybe a compression connection. Refill the system and test.

Go for the unblocking first as that will tell you whether the gauge is faulty.

Hope this helps
 
Joined
24 Jan 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Sussex
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks mr smith
Are you familiar with this reavenheat boiler ?
Is there a quick way to empty it ?? Or do I need to undo one of the pipes??
I was wandering if I could use the drain pressure valve located at the bottom of the boiler
 
Joined
26 Nov 2005
Messages
277
Reaction score
25
Location
Surrey
Country
United Kingdom
I would go for the same way you drained it before. Just releasing the pressure is normally enough.

Not sure if this boiler has a drain point. Opening the PRV is not a good idea as it can lead to other problems.
 
Sponsored Links
Top