OK phone experts - PLEASE help me work this one out!

Joined
3 Dec 2004
Messages
422
Reaction score
9
Country
United Kingdom
Recently moved into 3-year old new build. Master socket in garage and three phone sockets in lounge. Issue is slow broadband (Openreach have tested incoming speed at master socket at 30mb+ but by the time it gets through the house internal wiring to the lounge sockets speed has halved :(

The master socket shows a single pair coming in (orange and white) connected to a pair on a single cat5 cable (blue and white/blue) which then goes off into the house somewhere.

Two of the three lounge sockets then have three pairs connected and the other lounge socket has two cables and six pairs! Why all this?!

So I *think* I need to get rid of all of the cabling and sockets so I can get just the single blue and blue/white from the garage into one socket right? This will give me the best chance of a good connection and therefore best speed?

Opinions/advice hugely appreciated!

Master socket in garage:
IMG_2885.jpg

Lounge socket 1:
IMG_2886.jpg

Lounge socket 2:
IMG_2887.jpg

Lounge socket 3:
IMG_2889.jpg
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
15 Nov 2012
Messages
414
Reaction score
102
Location
Lincolnshire
Country
United Kingdom
I think you have another junction box or socket somewhere that is not pictured. The thing in the garage is a junction box, not the master socket. The master socket is the picture labelled "Lounge socket 3". One of the two cables in "Lounge socket 3" probably comes from the garage and the other probably goes out to the junction box or socket that is not pictured. The other two lounge sockets are likely to be fed from that missing junction box.

I would first disconnect one of the two cables in "Lounge Socket 3". Then check the internet speed at that socket. If there is no internet or phone when you disconnect one of these cables then you picked the wrong one, try the other one. :D
 
Joined
2 Feb 2016
Messages
2,060
Reaction score
394
Location
Newark
Country
United Kingdom
Lounge socket 3 with yellow capacitor is master socket.
You need to find which cat 5 goes directly from junction box in garage to lounge socket and connect phone module with yellow capacitor to that cable.
Leave all other cat5e cables disconnected and check speed of adsl service.
 
Joined
8 Jan 2014
Messages
297
Reaction score
23
Location
Surrey
Country
United Kingdom
Lounge socket 3 with yellow capacitor is master socket.
You need to find which cat 5 goes directly from junction box in garage to lounge socket and connect phone module with yellow capacitor to that cable.
Leave all other cat5e cables disconnected and check speed of adsl service.
Agree with what the others have told you...... BUT if the grey box is only a junction and the first point with telephone sockets is the master, BT Openreach are responsible for testing at the isolated master socket so why are they testing in the Garage saying it is not my problem. If the master socket is downstream, that is their demarcation point...
 
Joined
3 Dec 2004
Messages
422
Reaction score
9
Country
United Kingdom
Agree with what the others have told you...... BUT if the grey box is only a junction and the first point with telephone sockets is the master, BT Openreach are responsible for testing at the isolated master socket so why are they testing in the Garage saying it is not my problem. If the master socket is downstream, that is their demarcation point...

Interesting. He obviously never spotted socket 3 in the lounge and just assumed that there was no master socket :(
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
8 Jan 2014
Messages
297
Reaction score
23
Location
Surrey
Country
United Kingdom
Maybe. he / she must know that you can not plug a telephone or modem into that junction box! There is no consumer jacks for a start.
 
Joined
3 Dec 2004
Messages
422
Reaction score
9
Country
United Kingdom
I’m guessing if I have to re-connect strands I only need to worry about the blue and white/blue pair right?
 
Joined
8 Jan 2014
Messages
297
Reaction score
23
Location
Surrey
Country
United Kingdom
Yes on the grey Cat 6 cable yes. But...... if the master socket is downstream, the normal rules are you should not be touching anything before the master socket. As everything before is BT network.... Those 2x gel connectors are common BT use in the junction box.
 
Joined
8 Jan 2014
Messages
297
Reaction score
23
Location
Surrey
Country
United Kingdom
Normally the connections up to the master socket are BT openreach. The "extensions" on a master socket are your problem. BT have to test, prove and resolve faults including below threshold speeds at the master socket. Do some googling, you'll see what I mean.
 
Joined
3 Dec 2004
Messages
422
Reaction score
9
Country
United Kingdom
GET IN!!

Thanks everyone - you’ve just pretty much doubled my broadband speed!

(I know it’s still rubbish but it’s good for rural Wales!)

0A221C7A-C40B-4D81-9CB5-A8F13A3A48F4.jpeg
 
Sponsored Links
Top