Opening a PIR for inspection

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Jupiter01, 10 Jul 2019.

  1. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,084
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would like to open and check the voltage on my PIR. It's a DT connected to a texecom system.
    Q. will it activate the alarm when I open the cover of the PIR and probe the terminals with my multimeter? If yes, how do I approach this task please?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Matt W

    Matt W

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Jupiter01,

    When you open the PIR its tamper switch will activate. The internal sounders of your control panel will sound. You will need to enter your code to silence the alarm. Once the PIR's cover is back in place, after testing, you can reset the alarm by pressing the reset button.

    If you have the engineer's code, put the alarm into engineering mode. That way you can you can work on the PIR without the alarm sounding, if you want to.

    Kind Regards,
    Matt.
     
  4. Matt W

    Matt W

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Simply

    Open up PIR
    Enter code
    Probe and test with multimeter
    Close PIR
    Press Reset.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,084
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks @Matt W for the prompt response.
    Would engineer mode trigger the alarm and need for code too?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Matt W

    Matt W

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    With engineering mode you need the engineers code, which is different to the user code used to set and unset the alarm.

    Whilst the alarm is in engineer mode you can access with PIR without the alarm sounding.

    You would enter the engineers code before accessing the PIR. So when you open up the PIR, the alarm does not trigger.

    After testing, you would exit engineers mode.

    Matt
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,510
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have the engineer code, just get into engineering so it displays zone setup then you can look at the PIR without triggering the alarm.

    There is a time out function for engineers mode, so as long as that isn't exceeded should be okay.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,084
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That worked a treat.
    I measure 15vdc across positive and negative terminals. I held it for a while and there were no fluctuations.

    Is this what you would expect and can I rule out voltage as a reason for false alarms?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Matt W

    Matt W

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    Generally, alarm movement detectors run on 9-15v DC. So It's safe to say voltage isn't the issue. However, voltage spikes from mains cable running parallel to alarm cable could be causing an issue.

    How often and when are these false alarms happening?

    Regards,
    Matt.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,084
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’ve had two false alarms in the last year. The DT PIR is in the garage. There are no windows in the garage. I’d appreciate any suggestions you may have.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Matt W

    Matt W

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Has the garage detector been the cause of both false alarms?
     
  13. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,084
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    9,010
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    15v ...you either have a rubbish meter or psu ....13.8 is the norm...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Matt W

    Matt W

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can only think that possibly the microwave detection range is set too high and may be picking up movement outside the garage. But it doesn't explain why the PIR sensor would trigger aswell. Could be a faulty detector. Could be the wiring, a loose connection. Have you checked the wiring inside the panel?
     
  16. Matt W

    Matt W

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thought 15v was unusual.
     
  17. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,084
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’ve got a Fluke two probe tester with voltage reading display. Thought they were supposed to be pretty good?
     
Loading...

Share This Page