1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Optima/Accenta Tamper fault problem

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Eprisms, 10 Jul 2019.

  1. Eprisms

    Eprisms

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have an Agenta ADE Gen4 Alarm which was installed about 5 years ago and which has worked fine until recently.

    It started to go off for no reason and the display showed Tamper alarm.
    I've replaced the battery as it was due renewal just in case that may have been causing a problem.

    This made no difference so I checked all of the Tamper connections within the main control panel and Keypad and remade all of them just to be sure.

    This problem has happened twice in the past week and on both occasions the Alarm system was Off and it just alarmed on the Keypad and the outside Bell Box strobes were activated.

    On checking the Alarm keypad it showed the fault as a Tamper alarm but it did not show which Zone the fault was on.

    There has been no work carried out around the house that would have been anywhere near any of the sensors, cable runs or the outside Bell boxes.

    Has anyone come across a problem like this or has anyone any idea's as to tracking down which zone the fault might be on.

    John
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,422
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The problem with intermittent tampers is finding the source.

    You could link out all the tamper circuits and leave it until it either reoccurs or a few weeks have past without activation and then look at releasing the tamper circuits one by one and testing over a few weeks.

    Is there anything about the times of day or weather, what you were doing when it triggered.
     
  4. Matt W

    Matt W

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi John.

    Only more advanced alarm panels can tell you which zone has the tamper fault.

    Have you checked tamper connections in the movement detectors?

    Matt
     
  5. Eprisms

    Eprisms

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Matt,
    No I haven't checked the actual movement detectors yet as I was doubting that there would be a loose connection there but I know that I will have to in order to rule them out.

    Thanks

    John
     
  6. Matt W

    Matt W

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    Please make sure that you check the tamper switches/springs inside the detectors aswell and that they are depressed when the detector's cover is closed as this could also cause a problem.

    Regards,
    Matt.
     
  7. Eprisms

    Eprisms

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Secure I AM,

    Funny that you ask about the time of day, the last two alarm were both on a Saturday evening one at 18:30 and the other at 19:45. The weather was fine and nothing was happening at all around the house.

    As for linking out all of the tamper circuits do you mean that I should disconnect all of them from the main control panel and then reconnect them one at a time?

    Thanks
    John
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. Eprisms

    Eprisms

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Matt,

    I will check the spring when I get to these sensors.

    Thanks

    John
     
  10. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,422
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If linked out at the panel,
    if the tamper raises its head again it will rule out the cables and the devices at the end of them that's had tampers linked out
    If it doesn't occur again then chances are its one of those devices or the cables to those devices that need checking.

    The problem is an intermittent fault can be difficult to find, because the conditions may not present themselves for some time, although 5 years nothing and then twice in a week suggests the problem is reoccurring just not permanently.
     
  11. Eprisms

    Eprisms

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that,
    I will check out each of the Motion detectors before linking the Tamper circuits out at he Control box.
    As you say it's strange that after 5 years and with no interference to the system I'm starting to get spurious faults.

    Thanks

    John
     
  12. Eprisms

    Eprisms

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Update on this problem.

    I have checked all of the PIR's attached to this system, all wiring seamed to be alright but I took out each wire and reattached it just to be sure.
    The springs were also checked but all seemed to be alright.

    System ran without any alarm for another week and then the Tamper alarm came up again.

    Next step was that I removed the New Battery completely from the Control panel and mounted it in another box beside the Control panel as it seemed to be squeezing the wiring too much for my liking.
    Having done this I then removed all of the Tamper Loop wiring and just put a jumper in their place.

    The system then ran without any further alarms for almost three weeks and then up it came again.

    I have checked the Keypad and the Tamper loops have been jumpered in the Control box, that's the way they were.

    That would only leave the Bell boxes there are two outside and a Siren inside.

    I don't think that there's a Tamper loop on the Siren but I know that there are one's in the Bell boxes.

    Is it possible to remove these at the control panel or is it an up the ladder job.

    My only other thought is that maybe there is a fault on the Main board in the control panel.

    Any help would be gratefully received.

    John
     
  13. Matt W

    Matt W

    Joined:
    26 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi John,

    If you would like to link out the tamper for the bell box you'll need to look for the bell box connections near the right hand side of the panel. Look for the terminals marked SCB T A.

    A is the negative hold off for the bell box. T is the tamper return feed from the bell box.

    Remove any connections from the T terminal and place a link wire between terminals T and A. Leave in any other wiring that is already connected to terminal A, although you'll have to remove momentarily to get the link in. The bell box may sound when you do this.

    This will isolate bell box tamper.

    Regards,
    Matt.
     
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page