plumbing a cloakroom suite

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am new to this plumbing lark,with limited knowledge do you think it is possible for me to plumb in a new cloakroom suite.I want to place the new sink and toilet in the same position as the old ones.Can anyone give me an idea as to what tools i would need to do the job and in what order should I do the job please

Sponsored Links
Too much for a help forum really! Get yourself a thin book on plumbing - one from one of the sheds would be adequate. Then if you get the fittings frm a plumbers merchant you'll probably get all the advice you need. The sheds' staff aren't as good at that on the whole.

No, course it isn't difficult if you find out what's what before you start.
One spacing problem can arise if the loo exhaust goes into the ground rather than through the wall.

Have a look at DIYFIXIT.co.uk there's a lot of advice written in simple terms.
My only advice is to assume it will take 3 times as long to finish than planned.
So the first thing to do when you remove the old stuff is to fit isolation valves to all the water pipes. This will allow you to have water to all the rest of the house while you work.
Second bit of advice buy a good pipe cutter the best you can afford, especially if your working in confined spaces.
Good luck.

Thank you diyfixit.co.uk loads of info on there great idea about the isolation valves.I have my new suite on order .Its got to save me a couple of hundred if i can do it myself. Thanks for the advice

Sponsored Links
is it not better to pay that £200 and have the job done correctly. Also, if a massive leak occurs and floods the room whoever you paid would be liable, not you.

If you've little experience i would pay someone, they will always do a better neater job plus it's all guaranteed.

I'm like you, trying to save money but you can sometimes come unstuck. Besides if your changing a toilet it is not a pleasant job, I hate doing them... ;)