1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Potterton Netaheat Electronic 16/22

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by GeoffreySW, 28 Aug 2009.

  1. bengasman

    bengasman

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2005
    Messages:
    34,181
    Thanks Received:
    3,124
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3 RGI's that don't show up despite saying they will? Can you call my mother in law and pretend you are me?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. GeoffreySW

    GeoffreySW

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Correction - One thats not turned up - two others who are obviously too busy to listen to their answerphone messages.
    Alternatively - they may all have migrated to your neck of the woods for the Challenge Cup Final tomorrow - I live in Warrington and we play Huddersfield at Wembley tomorrow - NOW THE WIRE!!!!!!
     
  4. galwag

    galwag

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    from memory i believe the 16-22 version has a resetable overheat stat located on the front or the underside of the control panel.
    look for a small protruding button with a + shape on the end of it
     
  5. GeoffreySW

    GeoffreySW

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No reset button on this model - thanks for the suggestion though.
     
  6. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,020
    Thanks Received:
    4,591
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you checked to see that the connections onto the APS are correct?

    I think there is a connection diagram on the inside of the lower cover.

    One of your problems is that you have changed so many parts without diagnosing the actual fault that you may have created a new fault(s).

    Tony
     
  7. numpty1

    numpty1

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    3,549
    Thanks Received:
    834
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    check the aps connections,depending on the model 32 varieties,the tubes from the aps connect to a brass fitting give this a good clean out long time since i have worked on one of these.
    someone else has mentioned the overheat stat which were never fitted to the very early ones it was an addition that the installer fitted,i cannot remember its exact location but bottom rhs rings a bell.
     
  8. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,020
    Thanks Received:
    4,591
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The restrictor is not the problem here because the fan never starts.

    The additional o/h stat was added just left of centre when the unit was modified to permit installation on a sealed system.

    Tony
     
  9. numpty1

    numpty1

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    3,549
    Thanks Received:
    834
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Polite but firm, thank you for the correction.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    24,298
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check for faulty pump overrun thermostat. Wired in connection at corner of board where T7 isn't, should be live.
     
  12. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,020
    Thanks Received:
    4,591
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How would the pump over run stat stop the fan from running?

    Tony



    PS I need to contact your hairdresser Chris !
     
  13. glasgowgas

    glasgowgas

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    2,592
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  14. GeoffreySW

    GeoffreySW

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've checked the switched live connection to the terminal block and have now noticed that it has a live feed as soon as I power up the programmer (EP2000). It remains live when I flick the CH & HW switches on the programmer - is this normal. I had assumed that the switched feed would provide some sort of signal to the system to fire it up. If not what switches power to the fan???
     
  15. gaspro1981

    gaspro1981

    Joined:
    7 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    1,604
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you have changed the aps then you will need to alter the connections to it as the replacements are different :!:
     
  16. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,020
    Thanks Received:
    4,591
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I said a while ago.

    But he did not seem to take any notice!

    Tony
     
  17. GeoffreySW

    GeoffreySW

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The connections to the APS are OK and the switch is working - I've blown down the case connection tube to test it - but how would that stop the fan from kicking in. Surely the fan needs to be running first to pressurise the case in order for the APS to operate.

    Is there any straightforward way of proving if the programmer is acually sending a signal to the boiler to tell it to fire up. Like I mentioned earlier, the switched cable from the programmer remains live whether the system is swicthed on or off - the only action I'm seeing is the pump and Y valve operating.
     
Loading...

Share This Page