1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Programmer wiring.

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Rocketmen, 15 Apr 2011.

  1. Rocketmen

    Rocketmen

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just bought a new digital programmer to replace old mechanical one. New one (Drayton LP241) fitted onto old back (Landis & Gyr). All works fine, but the instructions state that I should be able to get the CH to operate independently from the HW. I can only get the CH to work when the HW is on. Looking at the wiring, only pin 3 and 4 are used. Pin 1 has a linked live from the L terminal.

    Any ideas on how I can wire this up for separate CH & HW?

    Thanks Guys.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. seco services

    seco services

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    15,701
    Thanks Received:
    1,260
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you set the link on the back from G to P ?
     
  4. pompeyal

    pompeyal

    Joined:
    18 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why should you want the CH on without the HW, it seems strange to say this in the instructions. All the systems I have fitted have had perminant HW and switchable CH. The HW regulates itself with the thermostats.
     
  5. Whitespirit66

    Whitespirit66

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    8,012
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't understand your reasoning. Many people like to have their HW on for set periods maybe twice a day.

    Also, what if the OP hasn't got a cylinder stat? Not everone has.
     
  6. PEDANTICVINDICTIVEMAN

    PEDANTICVINDICTIVEMAN

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    13,086
    Thanks Received:
    2,749
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So what system you got, gravity HW pumped heating, S plan C plan Y plan W plan ?
     
  7. weareleeds

    weareleeds

    Joined:
    13 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    664
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What system have you got? on an s plan 3 is dhw on 4 is c/htg on terminal 1 is a hot water off terminal which is only used on y plan so shouldn't be linked to live
     
  8. Rocketmen

    Rocketmen

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your thoughts and questions.

    The link on the back was already set to P.

    I would like to set my timer to get HW just first thing in the morning. However need CH on all day for disabled wife.

    I have a gravity fed pumped CH system. I don't understand your questions about the type of plan.

    I would really like to run the CH without HW if poss.

    Many thanks.
     
  9. hansthebear

    hansthebear

    Joined:
    24 Mar 2011
    Messages:
    603
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    not possible without converting to a "fully pumped" system
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. twgas

    twgas

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,900
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't say which model of timer you used to have, but the link you mention is normally fitted to a single channel timeswitch, although the backplate is the same as most programmers the wiring is diferent.
     
  12. D_Hailsham

    D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    10,587
    Thanks Received:
    1,344
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have any motorized valves - usually near the pump or HW cylinder?


    and do you have a themostat on the side of the HW cylinder?

     
  13. Rocketmen

    Rocketmen

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My programmer is a Drayton lifestyle LP241.

    I have a tank thermostat and a motorised 3 post valve, The actuator is a Honeywell V4073A1039 Sundial Y plan.

    Thanks
     
  14. simond

    simond

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    5,232
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have a Y plan, the progammer will be using outputs 1,3,4.

    If you have no separate cable from terminal 1 to the wiring centre, it will not operate the 3 port valve correctly.

    Its not all unusual to find these wired incorrectly from new.......
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Rocketmen

    Rocketmen

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Simon, I only have L,N & pins 3&4 wired up. There is no spare cables except for a yellow from a 4 core which is joined to the live feed for the boiler in the box behind the programmer.
     
  16. Whitespirit66

    Whitespirit66

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    8,012
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This link explains the wiring your wiring, and how the programmer should be wired up. Note that it is for boilers with pump overun, where the pump is wired through the boiler. Your may be slightly different.

    The grey wire from the motorised valve is wired to the hw off terminal on the programmer. Have you got grey, and where is it wired to?

    http://octaveblue.co.uk/c_heating/ch_only.htm
     
  17. Rocketmen

    Rocketmen

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Whitespirit66, the grey wire from the motorised valve links to the "earth" wire to the tank stat. There is no other wire taken from that connection.

    Am I doomed?
     
Loading...

Share This Page