re-roofing an ex council house

J

js.roofing

Hi guys,

I'm a roofer an am currently in mid process of re-roofing an ex council house, today someone from the council came to my customers house and began saying that he could have this work stopped immediatly as she (customer) had not written a letter to the council for permission, also saying something about the party wall (house being a semi) not sure what though as he did not speak to me, when i asked my customer she said she didnt catch all of it but that she has to write a letter to them and once they recieve it all will be ok. I've not heard of this before, with the house being bought and payed for years ago, but obviously still stuck in the middle of a council estate, does this sound right?? The roof has not been altered all tiles taken off are going back on, just new felt and battens have been used. Surely i didnt need planning permission, do any other roofers know what this guy is on about!?? Theres a full safe scaffold around the property and a skip inside the garden, so its not as if im working in a dangerous way or anything.

Sponsored Links
I dont think its anything to do with planning or building regs, I dont think its that uncommon either. Its because its an ex-council house, a quick call to the local council will explain all, as he said I believe its normally a formality. Am not sure of the reason, a condition of buying a council house I guess, probably written in the deeds somewhere?

I wouldn't be surprised if they reserve the right to vet reroofing, so that (1) in a terrace, it matches all the other roofs and (2) there is a proper weatherproof joint to your neighbours' roofs. they might charge to inspect, too :(

If you are re-fitting the same (and presumaby matching replacements for damaged) tiles then you should be able to satisfy them.