1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Re-wiring a very dodgy phone socket.

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Thermostathelp, 27 Nov 2005.

  1. Thermostathelp

    Thermostathelp

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I admit that I am partly to blame for this one.
    I urgently needed to hook up broadband about a year ago, so soldered the phone wires up as pictured below.
    Now that I am in the process of decorating the hallway, I really need to sort out the mess I have partly created.

    From the pictures provided, can someone tell me if firstly I have purchased the correct phone socket to replace what is already there, or does it need a proper BT one?

    This is how my socket is currently laid out, the wire on top is broadband, the wire below is phone.

    [​IMG]
    http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/9255/cimg12440wc.jpg

    This is the other side of the bottom base plate.

    [​IMG]
    http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/2749/cimg12467gn.jpg

    And pictures of what is going on inside.

    [​IMG]
    http://img432.imageshack.us/img432/3498/cimg12489sz.jpg

    [​IMG]
    http://img432.imageshack.us/img432/7704/cimg12497uo.jpg

    [​IMG]
    http://img432.imageshack.us/img432/9524/cimg12505ps.jpg

    This is what I have bought.

    [​IMG]
    http://img432.imageshack.us/img432/3047/cimg12515tw.jpg

    ???
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Adam_151

    Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,670
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, thats an extension as opposed to master socket, and evn if you got a master one, you shouldn't mess with the bt socket.

    My advice would be to careful remove the paint from the existing sockets, and rewire your extensions into the extension wiring panel as oposed to plugging them in
     
  4. Thermostathelp

    Thermostathelp

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So you'd install the extension socket next to the existing BT one, and wire the extension socket into the removable front panel of the BT one?

    Can I buy a BT socket ( just to neaten things up a bit ), or are they not on general sale?
     
  5. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think what is being said is this.

    you shoud hard wire your extensions into the removable part of the existing socket, since that is what it is for, it also looks neater.

    you should connect across 2 & 5 for the line and 3 for the ringer, all sockets should be connected to the same terminals, so that 2 at the master socket is 2 on the next socket and so on, similarly for 5 & 3, and no you cant buy a bt socket, but no one says you cant accidentaly paint it
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Thermostathelp

    Thermostathelp

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all, works a treat.
    Sorted all my electrical problems this weekend thanks to this site. :D
     
  8. andy

    andy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2004
    Messages:
    3,971
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    a master socket is a master socket. doesnt have to have BT stamped on it
     
  9. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,437
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no but bt are known to get bit*hy sometimes if you break the rules especially when there are hard to trace problems and replacing the BT master socket is breaking the rules.

    whilst they are likely to have a hard time making a prosecution stick because it would be almost impossible to prove who did it they can blame it for problems and charge huge rates for replacing the stuff with BT kit again before they fix the real fault in thier own stuff.

    and in much of the country bt are a monopoly so you can't just tell them to go f*ck themselves and find a new supplier if you have problems with them.
     
  10. andy

    andy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2004
    Messages:
    3,971
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think the paint idea is the best here...

    or try and get a BT master phone socket... have a few telewest, but i doubt that would go down too well... or just say telewest added it
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page