Recommendation for Heating Oil Tank

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I understand that Titan, Balmoral, Harlequin and Midas all make domestic heating oil tanks.

Would you recommend one manufacturer in particular ?

Titan seem to be the most popular when I have a look around ?

Sponsored Links
self builder 123 said:
Hi

I understand that Titan, Balmoral, Harlequin and Midas all make domestic heating oil tanks.

Would you recommend one manufacturer in particular ?

Titan seem to be the most popular when I have a look around ?

I presume that you are looking to fit an oil tanl with a storage not more than 2500 litres that is supply a single domestic dwelling only ?

I am an OFTEC installer and get to see some horrendous oil tank installations that do not comply with the regs.just because the builder or installing person thought it would be ok by his own imagination. It is quite important to make sure for example that the tanl is correctly located and not positioned within certain dimensions of openings or below eaves/next to combustible boundarys and fitted on a propoerly constructed base.

I would say the Titan oil tank is the best known Manufacturer and reccommend that a bunded plastic oil tank be fitted.

Also ensure that the oil line installation complies with the OFTEc specification and that there is a remote sensor fire valve fitted externally of the property where the oil line enters the building.

BUT ... Get some advice from a registered OFTEC tank installer who will be able to do the job from start to finish and most importantly be able to self certify the installation to the local authourity to comply with building regs.

It is very important that before an oil tank is fitted in a particular location that an OFTEC T/133D Risk assessement form is completed.