Recommendation on Combi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Taking the plunge and think I'll go for a combi into the house (ripping out the old tanks, etc - 3 bed 1bath + 1 shower.

I am getting someone in to do it but I have a question...
1. Torn between two boilers...Valliant TurboMax Plus or Worceste5r Bosch 35CDi. Any recommendations. Boiler will be going into the loft.
2. Are there any key benefits on Combis with a storage facility. Reading the Valliant website, they have one with a 15Litre storage.
3. How can I check my water pressure ? Can I stick a bucket on the outside tap and measure how long it takes to fill a bucket ? Whats the recommendation to run on a combi ?

Sorry to ask all these questions...I'm new to all this lark !

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
In the loft- beware the dead leg.
Vaillant lovely bits of kit.
Hey Kev, how about an 'ilovecombis' handle to liven up old oily!!!

oooohhhh

glups.gif

Sponsored Links
There's nothing like a useful reply, is there? :rolleyes:

Get your bucket, find/make calibrations. Turn kitchen + garden taps on full, measurequantities in one minute and add together.
Less than about 16 litres/ min = don't have a combi. 20 is OK, 26+ is getting good. Some get 40+

Check water pressure - plumber or £10 guage. You need 2 bar minimum, with flow off. Can you stop your mains water at your garden tap with your thumb? My thumb is calibrated for 3 bar - others vary.

If you're at the low end of pressure/flow there's no point having a combi with output above say 28kW. 35cdi is higher (35kW) Vaillant do one which is 37, and as you say their Aquaplus with a store inside which gives you a bath noticeably quicker. 28kW is a good shower, unless/until someone turns a tap on. If supplies are poor that includes a COLD tap.

With a 35 kW combi and very good supplies the showerer would notice a drop on flow if a hot tap went on elsewhere but a thermostatic or pressure balanced mixer would cope.