Reconfiguring Ideal boiler PCB (KM821 I2) to correct model and size

Joined
2 Oct 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
I am trying to get my Ideal Logic Heat H15 repaired.
There have been various faults appearing, with most of them pointing to the PCB (KM821 I2).
It has been decided that the best option is to try replacing the PCB and using a refurbished part initially for testing.

The PCB used on the Heat model is shared with several other models and the one that was received wasn't configured for our model.
When fitting the replacement, options should appear to configure it at startup. But those do not appear and instead, it shows its current settings: "SU", "n", "18". Which are for a "System" model and result in an F1 error that is not relevant to our Heat model.

We need it to show: "H", "n", "15". Unfortunately, We cannot find any information about how to re-configure the PCB.
Is there anyone, who might please be able to advise on this?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
2 Oct 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
You really shouldn't be removing front panel without G S R.
Thanks, my plumber is involved, but we hit this roadbloack and I am trying to find a solution for us to progress with the fault finding.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
2 Oct 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Has he swapped the code plug over?
Thanks for the pointer, we heard about these, but it does not seem applicable to this model: there is no mention in the manual, while it appears in manuals for other models.
 
Last edited:

CBW

Joined
26 Sep 2019
Messages
14,939
Reaction score
4,663
Location
North
Country
United Kingdom
Are you certain it’s the correct pcb? Where did you purchase it from? Some Ideal pcb’s come with a manual with how to set the correct configuration, so I suggest you do as advised above or obtain a new one.
 
Last edited:
Joined
9 Sep 2005
Messages
12,769
Reaction score
3,495
Location
Sussex
Country
United Kingdom
AFAIR the earlier pcbs were boiler specific but the later pcbs required the code plug (a small pcb) for the main pcb to determine the model.
Which type of pcb is the plumber trying to fit?
 
Joined
2 Oct 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Are you certain it’s the correct pcb? Where did you purchase it from? Ideal pcb’s come with a manual with how to set the correct configuration, so I suggest you do as advised above or obtain a new one.
I cannot be 100% sure, but the original and replacement boards are visibly the same and all the id numbers (that is 6 different muli-digits codes on both) match, except for one, which seems related to the manufacturing.
The procedure to configure the PCB is then explained in the boiler manual, but the replacement is not behaving as expected and letting us follow those steps...
 
Last edited:
  • Thanks
Reactions: CBW
Joined
2 Oct 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
AFAIR the earlier pcbs were boiler specific but the later pcbs required the code plug (a small pcb) for the main pcb to determine the model.
Which type of pcb is the plumber trying to fit?
Thanks, that is a possible concern. But the manual suggests that the PCB should be configured (selecting the model and size) at startup when fitting it in. But it is not letting us do so. So I wanted to know if somebody had suggestions on how we could do that.
This is the PCB: https://www.idealparts.com/179038-pcb-km821-i2-kit (found through spares list on Ideal website)
 
Joined
4 Oct 2012
Messages
10,385
Reaction score
3,399
Location
East Renfrewshire
Country
United Kingdom
If it's a Logic Heat 15, then it needs the correct BCC ( boiler chip card) to be attached, as suggested by @Gasguru.

The link/PCB you are posting to for the KM821 I2 (179038) is for the user interface board and not the primary PCB??

The primary board is a 1777708 - https://www.heatingspareparts.com/boiler-spares/partno/177708 - as you can see it needs the correct BCC to be supplied/fitted. Find the one on the old board and swap it over.

If it's a Logic + H15 then I'd need to check but it may use a different board.
 
Last edited:
  • Thanks
Reactions: CBW
Joined
2 Oct 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
If it's a Logic Heat 15, then it needs the correct BCC ( boiler chip card) to be attached, as suggested by @Gasguru.

The link/PCB you are posting to for the KM821 I2 (179038) is for the user interface board and not the primary PCB??

The primary board is a 1777708 - https://www.heatingspareparts.com/boiler-spares/partno/177708 - as you can see it needs the correct BCC to be supplied/fitted. Find the one on the old board and swap it over.

If it's a Logic + H15 then I'd need to check but it may use a different board.
This is a Logic Heat H15 - GC: 41-150-78.
The PCB is really the one shown, as can be seen here: https://www.idealparts.com/pub/media/diagrams/a/1/a106-d-controls.jpeg
and here:
The website you referenced does not show any BCC for this model (while it did for the 1777708)
And there is no BCC fitted on the original board and no mention of the need for one in the manual...
So quite unsure about this. I hoped that there was maybe something obvious we missed, but I think the best is to contact the seller.
 
Last edited:
Joined
4 Oct 2012
Messages
10,385
Reaction score
3,399
Location
East Renfrewshire
Country
United Kingdom
Not the only one that's confused -

The Logic Heat 15 is - GC:41 409 93
The Logic + H15 is - GC: 41 750 84

The GC: 41 150 78 is only reference by one site - the boilerbreakers as the Ideal Heat Engine (HEX) but the hex wouldn't normally have it's own GC number.

That's all moot anyway ... if the board, being second hand, has already been configured for a type of boiler that isn't a H15 then it will need cleared and then re-configured for the H15 boiler, a bit like wiping the BIOS and then re-programming. That may not be possible if it has already been written to or it may need an Ideal engineers PC tool to do the job.

Time to talk to Ideal tech and see what they say.
 
  • Thanks
Reactions: CBW

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top