1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Reducing effective size of plug / socket behind dishwasher

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by geojay, 28 Nov 2020.

  1. geojay

    geojay

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've recently replaced an old free-standing dishwasher with a new semi-integrated model and I have a slight problem because the combination of the socket and plug (which are positioned behind the dishwasher) are causing the dishwasher to stand proud of the adjacent cupboard by about 1cm. Of course, because it's a semi-integrated dishwasher and has a front panel to match the other cupboards, it needs to sit flush. I'm trying to work out what options I might have to get the dishwasher deeper into the space. I've attached a photo showing the space in which the dishwasher needs to fit and also detail of the panel to the right of the dishwasher which fills the few cm gap between the right of the dishwasher and the kitchen wall. I figured an option might be to relocate the socket into that space but given that the socket is fed from the left and the controlling switch is some distance away, that would need extra cable to be joined on...

    The wall behind the dishwasher and behind the panel on the right are both plasterboard, on a party wall behind and on an external wall to the right.

    All fairly sensible suggestions will be welcome, if there's something I can do myself then that would be great!

    Thanks in anticipation...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,613
    Thanks Received:
    3,189
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That sounds like a viable solution. You could remove that socket and replace it with a blank plate, and then have the join in the cable in a connector block/whatever in the box behind that blank plate.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  4. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,423
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there an isolation switch for it elsewhere, as that increases your options

    EDIT
    Just see in Johns quote you have a controlling switch , can you expand on that.
     
  5. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,423
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would it not need a fuse, are you asssuming its a Fcu
     
  6. geojay

    geojay

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, the controlling switch is in a wall unit some meters away. It's a four gang switch controlling the various appliances in that area of the kitchen. I've attached a photo...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,613
    Thanks Received:
    3,189
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The fuse would be in the plug (plugged into the new socket connected to the end of the new bit of 'joined' cable).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  8. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    6,153
    Thanks Received:
    1,275
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Change the socket for a fused connection unit and hard wire the dishwasher into it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. geojay

    geojay

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is that an allowable DIY job or would it need to be certified?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    6,153
    Thanks Received:
    1,275
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can do it yourself ,no certificate required. But you need to know what your doing !
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Adam_151

    Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its a simple change of accessory, so its non notifiable :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Astra99

    Astra99

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    902
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need a fused connection unit, as the fuse in the plug will limit the current. My suggestion: Buy a 20A flex outlet plate (Toolstation part no 79185 - made by MK - £3.70) and, using 1.5mm² flex (or 2.5mm² T&E) connect to a single 13A 45mm deep pattress box (Toolstation part 24531 £1.14) and mount the single socket on this box. It can sit under the adjacent units and the dishwasher will plug in as before. The reason for the 45mm deep box is that it has an integrated cable clamp. (Note that other suppliers are available). This is not notifiable in England, nor in Wales as it is essentially, as Adam151 said, just a change of accessory. Whether or not it is notifiable in Scotland, I do not know.
     
  14. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,613
    Thanks Received:
    3,189
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He would (need an FCU) if it did as terryplumb suggested, replacing the socket with an FCU and hard-wiring the DW to it (hence no plug).

    Kind Regards, \john
     
  15. geojay

    geojay

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i like the sound of this suggestion, I assume your use of flex and the pattress box containing a cable clamp means that this is effectively creating an extension lead which doesn’t need to be fixed to anything and can be laid out with the cable and the box sitting loose?
     
  16. Adam_151

    Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not that keen on that idea, sockets loose under the units always seem a little rough to me, plus if you used 1.5mm flex, you'd effectivly have this conencted to the ring before fusing down, yes overcurrent protetcion is downstream and you could prove fault protection by the 32A breaker, but again, seems a little rough.

    If you wanted an accessible socket outlet (always good for if you have to work on the machine), then blank plate, bit of YT2 (25x16mm mini trunk), butt the trunking upto the blank plate, cut a small bit out the back and chip away plaster slightly so a bit of 2.5mm twin and earth can enter through one of the side knockouts in the box (fit grommet), joint the cbales throuygh, remember to earth the back, have the trunking run to behind an adjacent unit, then have the 2.5 comming out, through the back and mount socket in the unit. Either drill large hole for plug to pass through, or drill a small one and take the plug off and pass cable through before refitting plug (or more likely snip off moulded plug and fit new)
     
  17. Jackrae

    Jackrae

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    2,240
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Dumfriesshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You may find the dishwasher stands about 4" off the floor which may give you sufficient room to extend the socket down onto the skirting board. Mount the new socket on its side to permit the plug to enter without bending the cable strainer.
     
Loading...

Share This Page