Regulations on rented property (now with pics)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I went to my best friend's housewarming party this evening. A good night was had by all, but during the course of the evening something caught my eye, and my interest in electrics and general nosiness got the better of me. I would now like some advice to pass on to him during the week.

The first thing that leapt out at me was the socket by the fireplace into which his telly and other AV stuff was plugged. It's a surface mounted socket on the skirting board, I'm no expert but it looks to me at least 20 years old and the height (or lack of it) means that the bend of the outgoing flex was a bit too tight for my liking.

Then, as I went through the hallway to the loo, I saw the "thing" next to the meter. I say "thing" quite deliberately because I wouldn't describe it even as a fusebox, let alone a CU. It's branded "memset" - I didn't open it, but I suspect it's one fuse protecting the whole install. If anything, it looks older than the socket in the lounge.

Given the occasion, you'd think I'd have my digital camera with me, but I didn't. I will go back tomorrow and take some pics which I will post here for your comments.

In the meantime, my first question is - Does rented property require the same standard of inspection on the electrics as it does for the gas? Because this house has, at best, a very dated electrical system in need of inspection, and at worst, an antiquated install which is lethally dangerous.

Unfortunately, my friend is question is the naive sort who will say "it's through a letting agent so it must be OK" - so I'd appreciate your initial comments, and more so when I've posted some pics tomorrow.