Replace MCB with RCBO's

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Licklieder, 4 May 2021.

Tags:
  1. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    49,202
    Thanks Received:
    3,250
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What requirement would that be?

    Kind Regards, John
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,467
    Thanks Received:
    919
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. Licklieder

    Licklieder

    Joined:
    2 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe I’ve got that wrong, but I’m sure I read on here somewhere that there needed to be a means of providing local isolation (e.g. via an FCU) to a thermostat that could otherwise only be isolated at the consumer unit. Thinking about it, the thread I’m thinking of probably relates to underfloor heating so I assumed it would relate to wall mounted electric rads too. As it stands, the circuit runs consumer unit -> thermostat -> FCU -> Electric heater.

    I’ll see if I can track down the thread I’m thinking of.

    tbh makes my life much easier if I can leave things as they are.
     
  5. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    49,202
    Thanks Received:
    3,250
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As you probably realise from my question, I'm unaware of any such regulation. In fact, as far as I am aware, there are extremely few (if any) requirements in the Wiring Regulations for anything to have a 'local' means of isolation in domestic premises.

    Having said that, it often makes sense to have such means of isolation, in order to avoid having to disable too many things (at the CU) when something 'goes wrong' or needs attention. However, that's different from a 'regulatory requirement'.

    Kind Regards, John
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Licklieder

    Licklieder

    Joined:
    2 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If there’s no requirement then I don’t see the need to do it and I’m all the happier for it. One less thing to do.

    My installation has three independent heating circuits covering the bedrooms, the hall & kitchen, and the lounge which in my mind offers enough discrimination and local(ish) isolation given the CU is just outside my front door in an adjacent utility cupboard.
     
  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    49,202
    Thanks Received:
    3,250
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fair enough - as you say, that doesn't sound unreasonable ('convenience'-wise).

    As for whether there is a 'requirement', you'd better wait to make sure that no-one comes up with one - but I doubt that they will!

    Kind Regards, John
     
  8. Licklieder

    Licklieder

    Joined:
    2 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    indeed. If someone knows of it I’m sure they’ll be forthcoming.
     
  9. Licklieder

    Licklieder

    Joined:
    2 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, it took me most of an afternoon and into the early evening, but i got it done. Surprisingly hardwork getting it all to fit. Not helped by the CU being quite shallow in depth, and there not being a lot of space behind the RCBO's once fitted - hence having to run the functional earths over the top. Not ideal, but it works. I know theres some debate about using bootlate crimps, but i love them - makes terminating multi core wires so much easier. Aesthetically, i like the yellow on blue too.

    upload_2021-7-10_22-51-1.jpeg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,935
    Thanks Received:
    596
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Added extra circuits too ?
     
  12. Licklieder

    Licklieder

    Joined:
    2 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whilst i was doing it i thought i might as well put in another couple of 32A's whilst i can get hold of them - gives me the option of running in a second cooker line and a kitchen ring when i replace the kitchen. Taking out the double width RCD means i could always potentially add more later too - though tbh its getting so busy in there that at that point i think it will be new CU time
     
  13. bsr

    bsr

    Joined:
    5 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    618
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you noticed the CU getting warmer? I was looking into RCBOs but one of the concerns I noted was that the parasitic current draw is much higher - up to 5W per RCBO.
     
  14. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,935
    Thanks Received:
    596
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wtf

    what brand is that which is 5w?
    Is it AfDD which have computer inside ?
     
  15. Licklieder

    Licklieder

    Joined:
    2 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    when i took the cover off yesterday to do some more testing / tidying up i did notice some of the 32A RCBO's felt warm. Don't really have any sense of what the MCB's were like so i can't say if this is warmer or not. When i get a moment I'll take the lid off again and grab a thermal image - got one of those thermal camera add ons for my phone a while back. Can't say that my electrical monitoring system has picked up an increase in the base load of my flat - certainly nothing in the region of 50W (5W per RCBO). If anything, my base load seems to have dropped - but that's probably because i didn't plug something back in...
     
  16. bsr

    bsr

    Joined:
    5 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    618
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. bsr

    bsr

    Joined:
    5 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    618
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Interestingly though, this spec sheet from Wylex says the current draw is comparable to the MCBs.

    Although the RCBOs are switching both poles so could have twice the draw in real service?
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...

Share This Page