Replace or Repair elderly Vaillant?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm a newbie but I'll try to put in as much information as possible in the hope that you can help me with my dilemma!

I've got a 17 year old Vaillant combi sealed system boiler (model VCW something, at work so can't check) in a one bedroom flat, powering 4 radiators. Recently the pilot light wouldn't stay lit so I got homeserve out who did lots of teeth sucking and told me I needed a new heat exchanger costing around £400 + vat. I got a call from homeserve yesterday who are now saying that another part also needs replacing, the combustion unit/chamber? at another £400+ vat.

Needless to say, they've decided it's uneconomical to fix and have cancelled the policy and are sending me a cheque for £200. The boiler is working ok now (dirty gas jet fixed by blowing aerosol on it) but apparently the heat exchanger could go any time. There is some scale on the bottom of it but that's been there for the last two years. I don't intend to stay in the flat for more than about a year so am reluctant to shell out the 1300 I've been quoted to supply and install a new one. Am I right in thinking the £800 to fix it seems a bit steep?

All replies gratefully welcomed!

Mags

Sponsored Links
Am I right in thinking the £800 to fix it seems a bit steep?
Obviously not worth repairing if it really needs that much spent on it, but if Homeserve have an obligation to repair, that's their problem. They are clearly overstating the cost to wriggle out of their repair obligation. I should hold them to it, if you can.

Alternatively you could try to find a competent heating engineer that you can trust. The actual repairs necessary to keep it going a bit longer may be quite minor.

I would definately look for another engineer. These boilers were overengineered. They hardly ever go faulty. When they do, start looking for a bod who knows his stuff.

but apparently the heat exchanger could go any time.