Replacing old thermostat with Hive.

Joined
26 Jan 2008
Messages
126
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry, I really have spent about an hour looking online for the answer and just can't find anything.

Boiler = Worcester Greenstar 28i (dial/timer in the middle)

Old thermostat = Siemens Landis & Staefa RA02

New Thermostat = Hive single chanel active heating.

The old thermostat is in another room and around 6 metres away from the boiler.

There's a fuse spare that isolates the boiler.

----

So I removed the cover of the old thermostat and there were 4 wires

Red - 240v
Blue - NOT CONNECTED
yellow - 240v
Earth

How I've currently wired the HIVE up with what I've found online.

Blue to N
Red to L
Yellow to 3
Earth connected
And I've put a link between L and 1

The issue I have is that the heating is permanently on once paired.

If you need anymore information feel free to ask, I've tried to give you all I know.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
15 Aug 2010
Messages
24,980
Reaction score
11,178
Location
Livingston
Country
United Kingdom
post a pic of what you are doing , NEVER go by colours of wires in a heating system they dont mean anything, first you say you have a live and a switched live, then you now have live and neutral, where did you get the neutral from
 
Joined
26 Jan 2008
Messages
126
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
I put the unused blue wire to N. I've tried disconnected that, and once I done that the whole system was dead.
 
Joined
26 Jan 2008
Messages
126
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
I've just traced the blue wire back and it does indeed go to Neutral

The Yellow wire that I have in 3 in the receiver goes to LR in the boiler.

Boiler locations are

L
N
Ls (empty)
Ns (empty)
LR
 
Joined
15 Aug 2010
Messages
24,980
Reaction score
11,178
Location
Livingston
Country
United Kingdom
yes 3 goes to LR
Lto L
N to N and link 1 &L
no need for the earth just tether it
Timer will need to be set to constantly on
 
Joined
26 Jan 2008
Messages
126
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
Right OK, that's what I've done and the central heating is on perm. Thanks for your help so far, but any other ideas?
 
Joined
15 Aug 2010
Messages
24,980
Reaction score
11,178
Location
Livingston
Country
United Kingdom
can you post a pic of the wiring at the boiler end and of the front control panel of the boiler
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
26 Jan 2008
Messages
126
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry I meant the terminal strips in the above images. Theres no other thermostat. There was a gravity system in initially but that's long gone.
 
Joined
15 Aug 2010
Messages
24,980
Reaction score
11,178
Location
Livingston
Country
United Kingdom
OK not being pedantic but have changed your post for you so others can see it properly
 

Attachments

  • IMG-20210312-174924 1.jpg
    IMG-20210312-174924 1.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 85
  • IMG-20210312-174835 2.jpg
    IMG-20210312-174835 2.jpg
    124.8 KB · Views: 92
  • IMG-20210312-174632 3.jpg
    IMG-20210312-174632 3.jpg
    84 KB · Views: 91
  • IMG-20210312-172643 4.jpg
    IMG-20210312-172643 4.jpg
    87.7 KB · Views: 83
Joined
15 Aug 2010
Messages
24,980
Reaction score
11,178
Location
Livingston
Country
United Kingdom
if you remove the link between LR and LS, do you have enough wires to make one of these to 1 on the hive and the other on 3 on the hive without any links ?
 
Joined
26 Jan 2008
Messages
126
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry I'm a bit lost there. Where's the link between LR and LS?
 
Sponsored Links
Top