Replacing old thermostat with Hive.

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Red_Man, 12 Mar 2021.

  1. Red_Man

    Red_Man

    Joined:
    26 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, I really have spent about an hour looking online for the answer and just can't find anything.

    Boiler = Worcester Greenstar 28i (dial/timer in the middle)

    Old thermostat = Siemens Landis & Staefa RA02

    New Thermostat = Hive single chanel active heating.

    The old thermostat is in another room and around 6 metres away from the boiler.

    There's a fuse spare that isolates the boiler.

    ----

    So I removed the cover of the old thermostat and there were 4 wires

    Red - 240v
    Blue - NOT CONNECTED
    yellow - 240v
    Earth

    How I've currently wired the HIVE up with what I've found online.

    Blue to N
    Red to L
    Yellow to 3
    Earth connected
    And I've put a link between L and 1

    The issue I have is that the heating is permanently on once paired.

    If you need anymore information feel free to ask, I've tried to give you all I know.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,099
    Thanks Received:
    10,171
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    post a pic of what you are doing , NEVER go by colours of wires in a heating system they dont mean anything, first you say you have a live and a switched live, then you now have live and neutral, where did you get the neutral from
     
  4. Red_Man

    Red_Man

    Joined:
    26 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I put the unused blue wire to N. I've tried disconnected that, and once I done that the whole system was dead.
     
  5. Red_Man

    Red_Man

    Joined:
    26 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just traced the blue wire back and it does indeed go to Neutral

    The Yellow wire that I have in 3 in the receiver goes to LR in the boiler.

    Boiler locations are

    L
    N
    Ls (empty)
    Ns (empty)
    LR
     
  6. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,099
    Thanks Received:
    10,171
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes 3 goes to LR
    Lto L
    N to N and link 1 &L
    no need for the earth just tether it
    Timer will need to be set to constantly on
     
  7. Red_Man

    Red_Man

    Joined:
    26 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right OK, that's what I've done and the central heating is on perm. Thanks for your help so far, but any other ideas?
     
  8. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,099
    Thanks Received:
    10,171
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can you post a pic of the wiring at the boiler end and of the front control panel of the boiler
     
  9. Red_Man

    Red_Man

    Joined:
    26 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Red_Man

    Red_Man

    Joined:
    26 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  12. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,099
    Thanks Received:
    10,171
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Post pics of the wiring in the JB as you call it, dont know why you have a junction box on a combi boiler, do you have a two zone system with two thermostats ?
     
  13. Red_Man

    Red_Man

    Joined:
    26 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry I meant the terminal strips in the above images. Theres no other thermostat. There was a gravity system in initially but that's long gone.
     
  14. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,099
    Thanks Received:
    10,171
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK not being pedantic but have changed your post for you so others can see it properly
     

    Attached Files:

  15. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,099
    Thanks Received:
    10,171
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you remove the link between LR and LS, do you have enough wires to make one of these to 1 on the hive and the other on 3 on the hive without any links ?
     
  16. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,099
    Thanks Received:
    10,171
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  17. Red_Man

    Red_Man

    Joined:
    26 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry I'm a bit lost there. Where's the link between LR and LS?
     
Loading...

Share This Page