RSJ lintel calculations?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Anyone know how to calculate a correct size RSJ please?
The house is a run down Victorian(1860) semidetached '2 up 2 down' cottage built from soft red-brick with lime mortar.
The opening in the load bearing living-room/kitchen dividing wall will be 2.2 metres wide and the wood joists (7"x 3.25") in the two above bedroom floors will be part supported by this RSJ. To make matters more complicated, though it shouldn't affect the calculation, one bedroom floor is 7 inches lower than the other bedroom hence my specification of a Rolled Steel Joist which will have to have joist hangers welded or bolted to one side.
I have not yet applied for Building Regs permission as money is tight nor can I afford to employ an architect or civil engineer for the same reason, I am a time-served electrician who went bust ten years ago and this is the first house we've bought since then - I have to do all the renovation work myself but am well aware of my duty to comply with Building Regulations. Any help will be appreciated, thanks.

Sponsored Links
Thanks Nige F I'll give it a gander. Btw it may be cold up here but our oil lamps are second to none and well light the way to the WC outside.

download a program called supabeam it has a free trial that will do what you want. select the universal collum or universal beam as the support needed not rsj as the sizes are old.

i have used this and found it worked great.

Sponsored Links
The program can be used as a rough sizing guide but it will not provide you with building regs suitable calcs unless you buy the full version. Even then be sure what you input; ie loading, masonry strength etc.

Static said:
The program can be used as a rough sizing guide but it will not provide you with building regs suitable calcs unless you buy the full version. Even then be sure what you input; ie loading, masonry strength etc.