Shower woes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Wonder if anyone has encountered the following situation before ?
To attempt to cut a long story short...property is a maisonette on ground floor & first floor. The airing cupboard on the first floor contains a Gledhill ShowerCyl cylinder of around 1994 vintage. Cold water is provided by mains pressure, there is no cold water tank providing cold water to the property - only the maisonette above is fed by a cold water tank.

Over the last few months the thermostatic mixer shower has got progressively worse - to the point of only being able to provide hot water for 30 seconds or so. As I'm no expert I called in a plumber. His opinion was that the shower itself was limescaled up and the cartridge needed to be replaced - his recommendation was to replace the whole shower assembly as the existing shower was at least 12 years old. Therefore we agreed to have a Mira Excel thermostatic shower unit installed.

This improved matters but only slightly - hot water was delivered for around 2 minutes before going cold.

Rather than install a complete new hot water cylinder ( as it was now believed that the shower coil in the cylinder providing the hot water was likely to be faulty / scaled up ) the cheaper option was to take out the new thermostatic shower and replace with an electric shower - a Triton T80XR was duly installed.

Next issue - no hot water. The low pressure light was lit on the shower unit although the flow rate appears to be okay at 14 litres/min, whereas the min stated by Triton is 9 litres/min.

Assuming the electric shower must be faulty, the plumber replaced it with another new one. This displayed exactly the same symptoms. Next step - get a Triton engineer in.

He tested the mains water pressure at 0.4Bar running, 0.8Bar static. The min as specified by Triton for the electric shower to operate is 1.0Bar running pressure.