1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

socket in garage has failed .....

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by teddyb, 31 Aug 2013.

  1. teddyb

    teddyb

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    We have a double socket just inside the garage which has been there for about 7 years. Always had armoured cable going to the summer house below it and an RCD above it.

    The socket has stopped working and I can't see why. I have replaced the actual socket front but no joy. There is power getting to the RCD (red light comes on and goes off with the test button) but the sockets won't work and neither does anything in the summer house.

    Can anyone suggest what I might try next?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A little further investigation, using an approved voltage meter will go a long way to figuring your problem out.
    Does the RCD protect the socket?
    Have you picture or two of what you have?
     
  4. teddyb

    teddyb

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes the RCD protects the socket and the armoured cable. I'll try and get some pictures.
     
  5. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It could well be that you have power going to the RCD unit, but not coming out. Could be a connection that has come loose on the load side of the RCD.
     
  6. teddyb

    teddyb

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks I will look at that. Meanwhile hear is a photo of what is on the wall



    (At least I hope this displays as a photo, if not, I haven't yet worked out how to do it! :) )
     
  7. teddyb

    teddyb

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    let's try again

     
  8. teddyb

    teddyb

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't be doing this as well as the failed socket!! :evil:
     
  9. Spark123

    Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,841
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you must have done something in your privacy settings
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,120
    Thanks Received:
    4,168
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    [​IMG]
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,457
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you checked the fuse in the RCD?
    It may be on the output side of the RCD

    Otherwise you'll need a multimeter or a two probe test indicator.
     
  13. teddyb

    teddyb

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, I have checked the fuse in the RCD, but I don't have any testing equipment. :(
     
  14. teddyb

    teddyb

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So, EFLImpudence, how did you do that????
     
  15. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    [​IMG]

    Its magic ;)

    So does the incoming supply enter up or downwards? it still maybe that the RCD unit does not protect this socket.
     
  16. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,120
    Thanks Received:
    4,168
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    I have a friend at GCHQ.
     
  17. teddyb

    teddyb

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hah! Hhhmm.

    The incoming supply comes down from the ceiling, into the top of the RCD, then on down to the socket (which doesn't work) and then on down to the armoured cable and summer house (which has no power either, at the moment.) Last week everything was working!!!!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page