Storage Tank / emmersion heater wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Not sure if this should be in here on in electrics. But here we go, recently had a lot of plumbing and electric problems. The box that all the wires for the airing cupboard got smashed and wires pulled out, purchased a new box but need to work out how to rewire it up. (I’m a trainee electrician so I should know this but have no idea :(

Any advice would be greatly received

Thanks in advance

Mem

MOD

moved as posted in wrong forum

Sponsored Links
Hard to be specific. Could be anything in there. First work out where each wire goes to. Boiler, pump, motorised valve power and relay, room thermostat, tank thermostat, timer, mains power? Have you got any documentation? These things usually arrive with suggested wiring diagrams for different setups.

all i have is the guide for the new box thingmy bob lol. emersion heater bit wired up n works :)

i have a 3 core & earth wire for the room temp. (red-blue-yellow)
& a 3 core and earth from the mains (or back boiler) :/ (red-blue-yellow)
& a 3 core flex from the tank temp. (red-yellow-black)
& a 4 core & earth from the motorised valve (white-orange-grey-blue)
a finally 2, 2 core & earth to the timer. thats all the wires that are in there.

i have a diagram from the wiring centre ( box thingy) but cant make head nor tail of it.

edi: i also have the 2 core & earth that goes from a 15A fuse on the cuircuit breaker to a fused spur then a heat resitant 2 core & earth flex to the emersion bit :)

Ok, colours mean squat :LOL: Depends who wired it!

Determine what colours go where first.

EG.

Cylinder Stat, C L1 L2 (what colours of the flex??, look inside the CylStat cover - is L1 make on temp rise or temp drop?, what make CylStat is it??)

Room Stat (Would think it is red to Com, Yellow to 'call' and Blue to N) Again, what make is the Room Stat??

Timer, what are the pin outs?? eg, 1 Live, 2 Neut, 3 HW on, 4 HW off, 5 CH on, 6 CH off?????