sunken ceiling lights and fibreglass problem/question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I am a retired building services man, which means I am a qualified electrician, and no I don't have part P because I am retired. Despite being a qualified electrician I have never done a job like this at work as the work was more industrial than this sort of domestic type here, hence the question.

I am fitting some recessed mains voltage fire rated fittings in my extension. The void in the ceiling is approximately 6" to 8" deep with a plasterboarded ceiling and fibreglass wool insulation of about 4" thick. The hole I am cutting for the fittings is 62mm, ie not big enough to get my hand in.

I don't know what to do about the fibreglass, the whole is very small to successfully cut a hole in the fibreglass to allow the lamp to slot into or even have a gap round it and I am not sure if it is ok to just push the lamp in and allow the wool to rest on top of the fitting. These fitting are fire rated and so don't need a hood and I know that mains halogen get very hot but not sure how hot this will make the back of the fitting and if it will be ok touching. They are about 5" deep, so my guess is they wont be very hot at the back, and I don't think the wool would easily catch fire but I don't want to test the theory.

Can anyone advise me, as to what is supposed to be done in this situation and what would an electrician actually do, ie sometimes there is a method you should use and sometimes electricians do it a different way because it makes more sense. I am not after bodging it but I don't want to go to any unnecessary work.

Any advice appreciated.

Sponsored Links
If we are presented with this problem then the norm is to try and push the fiberglass away from the fitting to try and achive at least a 6" clearance round the fittling. We use something like a cable fishing rod to move the fiberglass.