Switch help

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by OxiaUK, 7 Nov 2021.

  1. OxiaUK

    OxiaUK

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    I need to find a switch exactly like this one in below but that will work with 2x 6w LED bulbs.... anyone know of one?

    Greenbrook T41D-C


    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,101
    Thanks Received:
    4,361
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    to save every member carrying out their own search, you might like to include a pic, and a description of the features you require, and the reason why the one you mention is unsuitable.
     
  4. OxiaUK

    OxiaUK

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    greenbrook_t41d-c_a_d26006cd6d3427141b1a52f9c2dc72ae.jpg

    it operates at dusk to dawn and allows the lights to remain on for up to 8hrs before going off. the one above says not suitable for LED loads
     
  5. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,101
    Thanks Received:
    4,361
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    I bet it is.

    I've used various timed and photocell switches that say unsuitable for LED and CFL lamps and they work fine.

    there is a chance that it picks up a slight PD across the L and SL, but you can get that if you put any low-wattage filament bulb into the circuit.

    CFLs sometimes used to flicker, but you can stop that the same way.
     
  6. OxiaUK

    OxiaUK

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply. I have tried it and the led lamps glow when off. there is no way for me to mix the bulbs and have it look ok. is there another way?
     
  7. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,101
    Thanks Received:
    4,361
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    change one of the bulbs for a filament (incandescent) bulb. What happens?
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. OxiaUK

    OxiaUK

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the glow stops
     
  10. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,101
    Thanks Received:
    4,361
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    what sort of lamps are you using? hall and landing? porch? outdoor?
     
  11. boringoldcodger

    boringoldcodger

    Joined:
    1 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  12. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    26,043
    Thanks Received:
    2,595
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The main ( and often ignored ) problem is that the "smart" switch contains electronics that control the state ( ON or OFF ) of the the actual switch.

    These electronics require power at all times ( unless they are battery operated )

    If there is Live and Neutral (*) available at the switch and the "smart" switch has a Neutral terminal then the switch can use Live and Neutral for it's power source,

    (*) a blue or black wire may be Switched Live and NOT a Neutral.

    Where there is no Neutral available at the "smart" switch the switch allows a small current to flow through the lamp when the lamp is OFF. This small current is used to power the electronics in the switch. This current is enough to make the lamp glow slightly, With incandescent lamps this glow is too dim to be noticeable, with LED lamps the glow is often noticeable.

    These devices pass a small current that bypasses the lamp and this is the current that powers the electronics in the "smart" switch. The amount of current that can bypass is determined by the value of the capacitor
     
    Last edited: 8 Nov 2021
  13. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,931
    Thanks Received:
    1,780
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are many load capacitors which will stop glow or flashing, Danlers and Elkay seem to be the two most popular makes, [​IMG] they leak away the power used to power the switch, but it is only making it so you can't see the leakage, for an outside lamp it would not matter, just let it glow.
     
  14. OxiaUK

    OxiaUK

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all your replies.. I'll give this a go!
     
Loading...

Share This Page