Thermostat wiring

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by james_help, 25 Dec 2013.

  1. james_help

    james_help

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    222
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey hope you guys are having a good christmas, Just need some quick help. any chance on telling me how to programme a honeywell wired thermostat. New to all this and what type of wire do I use and how do I do it?

    Please let me know, enjoy the rest of the evening guys
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Blagard

    Blagard

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    1,560
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have no chance of an constructive answer unless you can advise what model of thermostat it is and what are you connecting it to?
     
  4. RickMoore

    RickMoore

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    380
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive never used wire to program a thermostat, come to think of it ive never programmed a thermostat.
     
  5. Blagard

    Blagard

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    1,560
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. RickMoore

    RickMoore

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    380
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But thats not what the op posted is it ?
     
  7. james_help

    james_help

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    222
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi its a Honeywell T6360B
     
  8. Blagard

    Blagard

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    1,560
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well that's not a programmable thermostat. - So the next question is what are you connecting it to?

    a)Direct to a boiler?
    b)To a wiring centre?
    c) to a programmer or time switch?

    What boiler do you have?
    What controls the boiler?

    Edit:
    You are going to need either a triple and earth cable or a 4 core flex. Possibly heat resisting depending on where the connections at the other end are. In simple terms, the live into the thermostat (terminal 1) comes from the switched live from the time switch or programmer. A neutral is connected for the anticipator circuit (terminal 2). The switched live (terminal 3) then comes back to either your boiler or some other control (the load) like a motorised valve. The earth core is connected to the earth terminal
    Cables are usually 1mm2 conductors and flex 0.75mm2 conductors.

    Where the thermostat is being added to an existing system, some other wiring changes will very likely be required
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page