Two computers, one broadband, ones slow but the others okay!

Joined
7 Dec 2003
Messages
52
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I have Sky Broadband (okay, stop laughing) and have a Pentium PC connected via a cable and a Pentium Laptop via wireless. Broadband works fine on the laptop but unbelievably slow when using the PC.

PC is slow even when laptop is switched off. Any suggestions?

Jas
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
15 Jun 2004
Messages
7,282
Reaction score
313
Location
Norwich
Country
United Kingdom
What spec is the PC, obviously it must be lower than the laptop
 
Joined
7 Dec 2003
Messages
52
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
The PC is an Advent 3217 with;

Intel® Pentium® 4 3.06 GHz (Hyperthreading)
512 MB DDR RAM - PC2700

The laptop is a IBM Thinkpad T42 with;

Intel Pentium M 1.70 Ghz
2GB of RAM
 
Joined
30 Mar 2004
Messages
2,735
Reaction score
66
Location
Northamptonshire
Country
United Kingdom
Could be many things.

Have you run a speed test using any of the various sites that can be googled (Speedtest.net) for example. Comparing results from both machines might provide useful information.

Try a different patch lead to connect the desktop

Try using a different port on the router/switch.

Perform general housekeeping on both machines and check for any virus/spyware issues

Update the drivers on the wired NIC

Try pinging the router and external sites from both machines and record the results.

Power cycle the router. Triy a factory reset and set it up again.

Reset NIC to default settings.

Try a different NIC if possible.

Try a different router if possible.

To list a few.
 
Joined
23 Feb 2005
Messages
6,871
Reaction score
402
Location
Surrey
Country
United Kingdom
Virus or malware slowing browsing down?

Inadvertently using neighbours WiFi connection, which happens to be faster? ;)
 
Joined
27 Nov 2006
Messages
11,885
Reaction score
32
Country
United Kingdom
Sky have been running a DLM programme to stabilise connections it lowers the speed automatically till it gets a stable connection, power cycling or rebooting the router rather than just leaving it be can cause this management software to slow your connection more and more thinking there's a problem with the line,if no further rebooting happens for at least 10 days, sometimes more the line speed will gradually increase until about a meg of the original speed automatically, in some cases this increase doesnt occur and the speed stays slow indefinitely, a call to sky to have it manually reset will need to be done.

More info here

http://www.skyuser.co.uk/tutorials/5848.html
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
5 Aug 2007
Messages
550
Reaction score
31
Country
United Kingdom
jazz-uk";p="986655 said:
The PC is an Advent 3217 with;

Intel® Pentium® 4 3.06 GHz (Hyperthreading)
512 MB DDR RAM - PC2700

I think you should add another 512mb as 512mb is not enough.
 
Joined
22 Mar 2006
Messages
235
Reaction score
2
Country
United Kingdom
The PC is an Advent 3217 with;

Intel® Pentium® 4 3.06 GHz (Hyperthreading)
512 MB DDR RAM - PC2700

The laptop is a IBM Thinkpad T42 with;

Intel Pentium M 1.70 Ghz
2GB of RAM

look at the specs, you just answered your own question.
 
Joined
26 Sep 2008
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Location
West Midlands
Country
United Kingdom
The spec of the PC is significantly better than the minimum requirement to run a 100mb connection. Dont worry about that being the cause.

1. Do a sweep in safe mode using virus scanner, adaware and spybot until clean.

2. Run TCP Optimizer from speedguide.net if you are still having an issue, although i doubt you will be. You may have a TCP setting issue.

Good luck!
 
Joined
27 Apr 2008
Messages
8,645
Reaction score
705
Country
United Kingdom
also check on how much free space you have on your desktop's hard drive.
If its less than a few hundred MB then that will be why its slow too.

(my son does this all the time, fills his HDD & wonders why the pc wont work :D)
 
Sponsored Links
Top