1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Upcoming job for daughter

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by IJWS15, 11 Jun 2021.

  1. IJWS15

    IJWS15

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    1,404
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    She is getting a new TV and wants it on the wall.

    Sky box will be in unit below TV. I intend to add a single socket behind the tv and an outlet for the feed from the stb. To future proof considering burying a piece of 25 or 38 mm square conduit between 2 back boxes so cables can be replaced.

    What spacing do I need between the mains and signal cables?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    18,795
    Thanks Received:
    1,886
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fit a double socket - you never know when you’ll need it. Handy for a streaming stick.
     
    Last edited: 11 Jun 2021
  4. sxturbo

    sxturbo

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    4,030
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Go for the 38mm conduit, but fit the most up-to-date cables as possible, should mean it will be a few years till you have to change them
     
  5. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,167
    Thanks Received:
    552
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you know the future? No one else does.
    Suggest you put an aerial socket behind the TV as well. In the future she may get fed up with sky's ridiculous charges.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,542
    Thanks Received:
    423
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last one I did was on a disused chimney breast. I core drilled into the flue and ran some of this: https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/conduit/1240028/.
    Almost straight away the system was upgraded and when they moved the buyer couldn't believe his luck.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. zebedee2001

    zebedee2001

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just make sure the socket isn't in the way of the TV bracket & aerial socket. My sister in law had her house rewired & got a socket behind the TV, changed the TV a few months later & the TV aerial socket ligned up with the plug socket & now the TV is offset to the wall centre & looks a right mess
     
  8. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,534
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    An Ethernet cable to the router would be more use. The bit of the future we do know about is that we will be enjoying super-fast broadband. That will be the medium for broadcast reception. We are on fibre and never now use terrestrial aerial to receive TV.

    Most interconnect cables come with connectors at both ends. Make sure that your cable route is big enough for cable PLUS the connector.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,167
    Thanks Received:
    552
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never seen a TV yet where you just plug in an Ethernet cable and can select channels simply with the remote. Normally there loads of faffing about then the whole thing crashes.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    18,795
    Thanks Received:
    1,886
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No aerial. Just connected to an ethernet cable. I have the same setup at work - no aerial. Depends what you put on your home channel. I can watch any channel I like and that’s on a fairly ancient smart TV. Could even do it with no ethernet but ethernet is a quicker more stable source.

    51D115FB-7C1E-44B1-8322-383517C4555E.jpeg image.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    4,524
    Thanks Received:
    942
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Minimum 50mm separation is the usual deal, signal cables are allowed in the same containment as power if there's a mechanical divider or the signal cables are rated at or above the mains voltage in the power cables.
    Trunking/ducting if you can...
     
  13. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,534
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should get out more.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. chivers67

    chivers67

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We have an Aerial for Terrestrial & Free view channels and Ethernet cable for Netflix. amazon, Disney & anything else. Had Virgin Media TV but was getting ridiculously expensive with all three products so we binned the TV and Landline package and just have 500 meg download. Although the TV works off wifi I find the Ethernet cable works best streaming stuff
     
  15. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    18,795
    Thanks Received:
    1,886
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can’t go wrong with a firestick and kodi.(y)
     
  16. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    8,276
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's anything like my daughter it will want about 4-6 ethernet sockets, 10 power sockets, multiple lighting options and a green screen for one wall.
    So plan for the future :)
     
  17. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    8,226
    Thanks Received:
    1,139
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or even better, a double socket with built in USB outlets.
     

Share This Page