Upgrading an Existing Alarm System

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Twin Dad, 23 Jul 2015.

  1. Twin Dad

    Twin Dad

    Joined:
    22 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When we recently moved house we became the proud owners of a vintage (hard wired) alarm system. There are no instruction manuals at all and I've been on the manufacture's (Tate) website and can't find anything - I've not actually called them yet. My guess is its as old as the house which was build in 1987. No idea how it works, there's a key in the box that sets several positions (off, test, partial, full IIRC) and some LED's that relate to the zones.

    If we assume that there are power to all of the sensors and that we are happy with their location, and that we are also happy with the position of the box, would it be a simple enough job to swap out the box to something more modern? I could also swap out the sensors too if needed. Obviously the system would be isolated at the CU first.

    What would be involved in adding in some sort of key pad near the front door?

    Am I missing anything? I'm fairly happy with most DIY but I have never touched an alarm system before and haven't the faintest idea where to being with them.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. cpjvej2014

    cpjvej2014

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like an old keyswitch system.... Any photos ?
     
  4. Twin Dad

    Twin Dad

    Joined:
    22 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Photo's to follow, of course. Thanks.
     
  5. alan333

    alan333

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    1,314
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've done this, although I stuck to the same manufacturer as the original (Galaxy). Most of my alarm system is 12 volt, except the main power supply, so it's not too dangerous to work with if you're competent. I'm not an alarm expert but going by what I encountered I see no reason you couldn't do the same fairly cheaply, assuming the existing cable has enough cores etc. Galaxy panels are under £50 on ebay for example. Obviously you'd need a keypad, and I don't have enough knowledge to say whether your existing sensors, battery and siren would be compatible.

    BTW the Galaxy stuff is well respected, and you can add an internet module (Selfmon) for about £50 which gives you full control via internet/phone app etc, and will call/text/email you if your alarm activates. There's quite a bit on here about Galaxy stuff if you fancy a bit of research.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Twin Dad

    Twin Dad

    Joined:
    22 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alarm.jpg

    Picture as requested. And yes, the entire alarm can be shut off using the switch above. Pointless.
     
  8. Serg

    Serg

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes. cabling for keypad and keypad is required for new system.
     
  9. Deryck Tintagel

    Deryck Tintagel

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's an old ADE Logic 4 rebranded. You'll need to change the switched fuse spur to a fused spur
     
  10. Deryck Tintagel

    Deryck Tintagel

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page