Vaillant VCW GB 242 EH / VCW GB 282 EH Combi Boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just moved into my new house with a Vaillant VCW GB 242 EH / VCW GB 282 EH Combi Boiler fitted.

The hot water works fine, however the central heating dosen't. I think the problem is that the pressure is showing 0, where it should be about 0.7 to 1 bar...
:rolleyes:
I'm novice to the whole DIY thing, but is it an easy task to fill the heating system upto the correct pressure?? I have instructions for the boiler, but they state they should be used by a qualified fitted.

:oops:

Sponsored Links
Hi Senter,

I'm no expert but I have the same boiler. If you check the instructions, you should find there are 5 pipes coming into the boiler, 2 for the central heating (in and out), 1 for the gas, 1 for hot water out and a cold water feed pipe. If you follow this cold water feed pipe along it's path, there should be a shut off valve which will be in the closed position. If you open it, this will start to fill the system. You should check that all bleed valves on radiators are closed before you do this.

Just be sure to stop filling the system when it reaches the right pressure. ;)

You make it sound so easy...

Have you done this to your boiler then??

Will I need to bleed any of the radiators afterwards, or does it automatically let out the air as the system fills?

The pressure release valve on my boiler got stuck in an open position so as soon as I would fill the boiler, the pressure would begin to drop to zero so I had to constantly keep filling it until I managed to replace the pressure release valve.